Archive | 9:16 pm

In the Arena, 7/11

10 Jul

BY TODD HUNT

So last week’s topic was my top American bands of all time. Since summer is typically a slow time here at the arena, it seems like a good idea to expand upon that and travel around the world listing my favorite bands from other countries. So it’s on to jolly old England, our opponent in both the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812. Thankfully we have learned to get along since then! If not, the following bands probably wouldn’t be on my list…

LED ZEPPELIN – One of the greatest bands of all time. I’m such a big fan that I even named my dog after their legendary drummer.

THE BEATLES – The creative output from these four lads from Liverpool in such a brief period of time is simply astonishing. Maybe the breakup of the band in 1970 prevented them from releasing a bunch of bad albums later on (I won’t name names but you know what bands I’m referring to), but their catalog is without peer even today. I’m a bigger fan of the late period Beatles, but it’s all good. Just ask my middle daughter!

THE ROLLING STONES – Another fantastic British band. The 1969 – 81 era Stones are my favorite but that’s just my opinion. I’m glad I got to see them before their ticket prices went through the roof. How much money does one band need?

THE KINKS – Ray Davies is a master storyteller, and his brother Dave created some great guitar sounds. My personal favorite album is the underrated “Give The People What They Want” from 1981.

U2 – I know, they’re an Irish band, but it’s close enough to England for this list. While I may not have fully appreciated some of their material at the time (like their entire catalog during the Nineties), looking back it was really pretty good. I would love to be able to convince them to play the birthplace of the King…

RADIOHEAD – I wouldn’t say that I’m a complete convert, but this band has been growing on me for quite some time (I have my wife and John Brocato to thank for this!). Some of the electronica stuff is a bit out there for me, but that’s just my mainstream rock roots showing though.

SPINAL TAP – The Mick Shrimpton era only…

PINK FLOYD – I have no idea why David Gilmour and Roger Waters can’t get along, but they made some great music. Sorry Melissa, but the Syd Barrett stuff is a little out there for my tastes…

That’s my British band list. I probably should have included some bands from my metal years like Iron Maiden, Def Leppard (pre-Hysteria), Judas Priest (how did we not pick up on Rob Halford’s attire?) or Black Sabbath (both with Ozzy and Ronnie James Dio), but I just couldn’t pull the trigger. There are probably several other bands that I left out due to brain freeze. Let me know who you would include on your list.

Until next time,

Todd

Even more party songs!

10 Jul

I wanted to list 50 good party songs in Scene, but I got so many good suggestions that I hated to cut the list so short.

Some lovely folks sent me some great tunes, so here are their picks and a few of mine I had to give up. 🙂

KZ103 DJ Kevin Russell suggested these tunes:

“Low,” Flo Rida
“Talk Dirty to Me,” Poison
“Crank That (Soulja Boy)” Soulja Boy Tellem
“Lollipop,” Lil Wayne
“Pour Some Sugar on Me,” Def Leppard
“Get Silly,” V.I.C.
“Brick House,” The Commodores
“Sweet Home Alabama,” Lynyrd Skynyrd
“Play That Funky Music,” Wild Cherry
“Seventeen,” Winger
“Let’s Get It On,” Marvin Gaye
“Baby Got Back,” Sir Mix-a-Lot
“Cherry Pie,” Warrant
And, of course, the slides, both Cha-Cha and Electric.

DJ Joshua Blake has these on his list:
“Out Comes the Evil,” Lords of Acid
“Hero,” Cockfight Club
“Lap Dance,” N.E.R.D.
“The Music Sounds Better With You,” Stardust

The night before deadline I talked to my friend Spencer Pleasants from Saltillo. Mostly we talked about the Ringo Starr concert he’d just seen, but then I mentioned the party songs story. Spencer said he’d call back in 20 minutes with a few songs – um, he called back with 60 songs. That kid loves his music.
I don’t have room for all 60 but here are a few he suggested:
“Should I Stay or Should I Go,” The Clash
“I Melt with You,” Modern English
“A Little Less Conversation,” Elvis Presley
“Boyz,” M.I.A.
“Oh Bondage, Up Yours,” X-Ray Spex
“Anarchy in the U.K.,” The Sex Pistols
“Bang a Gong,” T-Rex
“Fat Bottomed Girls,” Queen
“Blue Orchid,” The White Stripes

A few more of my picks:

“West Coast,” Coconut Records (actually almost any song from Coconut Records. I’m super-duper sweet on that band)
“That’s Not My Name,” The Ting Tings
“One, Two Step,” Ciara
“Pumpkin Soup,” Kate Nash
“Caribbean Queen (No More Love on the Run),” Billy Ocean (cheesy, sure, but turn this baby up and it sounds unbelievable)
“Dancing Through Sunday,” AFI
“Gin & Juice,” Snoop Dogg
“Every Me Every You,” Placebo
“Where It’s At,” Beck
“Rebel Girl,” Bikini Kill
“Teenagers,” My Chemical Romance
“Is There a Switch for That?” 1990s
“Santa Monica,” Everclear
“P.I.M.P.,” 50 Cent
“Seether,” Veruca Salt
“Wicked Gil,” Band of Horses
“Hang Me Up to Dry,” Cold War Kids
“Creator,” Santogold
“Guitar,” Prince
“Oh My God,” Mark Ronson and Lily Allen
“Our Lips are Sealed,” The Go-Go’s
“Let’s Dance to Joy Divison,” The Wombats

Are we completely missing the mark?

Do you have a favorite party tune we’re just missing?

Share your favorites!!!

What’s Going On – NoiseTrade.com, Sherlock, ‘Idol’

10 Jul

Happy Thursday!

Today’s like my Friday, so I’m definitely ready to hurry this day up so I can start my weekend. *yawn* On top of losing sleep, I’m starting to feel a little sickly, so really I want to lay around the house, watch hours of “Six Feet Under” and eat more of my strawberry cheesecake. Yum.

*Yawn again* Here are your newsy bits.

  • Curious about what Taylor Hicks is up to since being dropped from his label? MTV caught up with the former “American Idol” winner.
  • Click here to find out about some new shows coming to the Biography Channel.
  • Apparently coffins are the way to go – Metallica’s new album will come in a coffin case.

Here’s a pretty cool Web site you might enjoy: NoiseTrade.com. The site offers new albums by emerging or lesser-known artists, and you can either pay what you want or get it for free by telling three friends. If you pay, 90 percent of it goes to the artist.

Words from Warped Tour

10 Jul

Eds Note: Neighbors editor Bobby Pepper is blogging at Scene Now from Warped Tour.

BY BOBBY PEPPER

Wednesday’s Warped tour stop in Atlanta was the fourth for me, my daughter Samantha and her friend Kaylee Watson. Joseph Nichols, another friend, came along for his second Warped. For me, Warped has become my one-day break from my classic rock frame of mind to hear the rock kids enjoy today.

I want to post some photos and videoclips from some of the performances. But so-called “high speed” wireless Internet at the motel we’re staying has a very weak signal, so I’ll have to wait until I return home later today before uploading those for your viewing pleasure.

Comparing this Warped to the previous three, I would say it was one of the best. There were a good mix of acts spread out over the eight stages around the Lakewood Amphitheater site.

Here’s a quick list of act that impressed me: From First To Last, Everytime I Die, Cobra Starship, As I Lay Dying, Katy Perry, Horrorpops, The Academy Is… and two Atlanta area-based bands, Family Force 5 and Norma Jean. The kids in our group also gave good reviews to, among others, Relient K, Forever the Sickest Kids and Anberlin.

Warped brings out the best in music fans who love mosh and circle pits and crowd surfing. I almost got too up close and personal with a wild mosh pit while watching the band that gets my award for best name: Maylene and the Sons of Disaster. I was in front of the stage and the pit started up, so I got my camera out to record a videoclip of it. The pit began to widen and I got caught up in the bashing of bodies for about five seconds until I squeezed my way out of it. It’s fun to see how close I can get to a mosh or circle pit without being trampled.

Afterwards, I shared my mosh pit escape tale with other people like myself from the 8-track generation who sought refuge in the Reverse Daycare tent (a place for parents to chill out while the kids are moshing and crowd surfing). We all agreed Warped is a great way to enjoy live music just like we did in our youth and spend quality time with our children.

I’ll work on uploading those photos in a few hours. Now it’s time to wake up three worn out teenagers and load them up for the trip home.

Scene Picks

10 Jul

Here are some events to fill your empty planner for the next week:

  • “We are Wizards,” a documentary about pop culture and Harry Potter, will screen in Oxford this weekend at Smoothie and a Movie. Melanie’s Film Freak blog can tell you all about it.
  • Egypt Central and Allyria are playing a huge show at Good Time Charlie’s in Tupelo tonight (Thursday).
  • Forever and Never, Anxious Arms, Beneath the Graves and Those Who Fear will play at Musician’s Playground Wednesday – read Scene for more.
    I have to add – my photographer, Todd, and I heard Forever and Never when we went out to Fulton for the interview. We were both blown away by how good these guys were. Go check them out!
  • Our own M. Scott Morris and the Wizard Team were kind of impressed with “Hancock.” What do you think? It’s playing now across NeMiss.

What are you doing this weekend?