Even more party songs!

10 Jul

I wanted to list 50 good party songs in Scene, but I got so many good suggestions that I hated to cut the list so short.

Some lovely folks sent me some great tunes, so here are their picks and a few of mine I had to give up. 🙂

KZ103 DJ Kevin Russell suggested these tunes:

“Low,” Flo Rida
“Talk Dirty to Me,” Poison
“Crank That (Soulja Boy)” Soulja Boy Tellem
“Lollipop,” Lil Wayne
“Pour Some Sugar on Me,” Def Leppard
“Get Silly,” V.I.C.
“Brick House,” The Commodores
“Sweet Home Alabama,” Lynyrd Skynyrd
“Play That Funky Music,” Wild Cherry
“Seventeen,” Winger
“Let’s Get It On,” Marvin Gaye
“Baby Got Back,” Sir Mix-a-Lot
“Cherry Pie,” Warrant
And, of course, the slides, both Cha-Cha and Electric.

DJ Joshua Blake has these on his list:
“Out Comes the Evil,” Lords of Acid
“Hero,” Cockfight Club
“Lap Dance,” N.E.R.D.
“The Music Sounds Better With You,” Stardust

The night before deadline I talked to my friend Spencer Pleasants from Saltillo. Mostly we talked about the Ringo Starr concert he’d just seen, but then I mentioned the party songs story. Spencer said he’d call back in 20 minutes with a few songs – um, he called back with 60 songs. That kid loves his music.
I don’t have room for all 60 but here are a few he suggested:
“Should I Stay or Should I Go,” The Clash
“I Melt with You,” Modern English
“A Little Less Conversation,” Elvis Presley
“Boyz,” M.I.A.
“Oh Bondage, Up Yours,” X-Ray Spex
“Anarchy in the U.K.,” The Sex Pistols
“Bang a Gong,” T-Rex
“Fat Bottomed Girls,” Queen
“Blue Orchid,” The White Stripes

A few more of my picks:

“West Coast,” Coconut Records (actually almost any song from Coconut Records. I’m super-duper sweet on that band)
“That’s Not My Name,” The Ting Tings
“One, Two Step,” Ciara
“Pumpkin Soup,” Kate Nash
“Caribbean Queen (No More Love on the Run),” Billy Ocean (cheesy, sure, but turn this baby up and it sounds unbelievable)
“Dancing Through Sunday,” AFI
“Gin & Juice,” Snoop Dogg
“Every Me Every You,” Placebo
“Where It’s At,” Beck
“Rebel Girl,” Bikini Kill
“Teenagers,” My Chemical Romance
“Is There a Switch for That?” 1990s
“Santa Monica,” Everclear
“P.I.M.P.,” 50 Cent
“Seether,” Veruca Salt
“Wicked Gil,” Band of Horses
“Hang Me Up to Dry,” Cold War Kids
“Creator,” Santogold
“Guitar,” Prince
“Oh My God,” Mark Ronson and Lily Allen
“Our Lips are Sealed,” The Go-Go’s
“Let’s Dance to Joy Divison,” The Wombats

Are we completely missing the mark?

Do you have a favorite party tune we’re just missing?

Share your favorites!!!

4 Responses to “Even more party songs!”

  1. jklinec1980 July 10, 2008 at 12:24 pm #

    Here is just a few more…

    Cupid Shuffle by Cupid
    Margaritaville by Jimmy Buffett,
    Clothes Off by Gym Class Heroes,
    Hey Mama (Radio Edit) by Black Eyed Peas, &
    My Humps by Black Eyed Peas

    I wish I had my iPod with me right now because all my party songs are on that.

  2. hannahdonegan July 10, 2008 at 1:58 pm #

    DANCING THROUGH SUNDAY!! YES!!

    Other AFI party songs? ‘The Days of the Phoenix’ ‘Miss Murder’ ‘Love Like Winter’ ‘Affliction’ and ‘Fall Children’

  3. sheenabarnett July 10, 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    I like your suggestions, jk!

    Probably my favorite AFI song is “Death of Seasons” but that song may be scary at a party. 🙂

  4. hannahdonegan July 10, 2008 at 3:14 pm #

    That is a good one!

    It’s not scary if you’re at the right kind of party!

Leave a Reply

