What’s on your iPod? 2/16

16 Feb

Almost every time I interview a musician, I ask them – “Do you have an iPod? If you do, what’s on it?”

I’ve gotten all sorts of answers, from “I’m not really listening to anything right now” to shout-outs to their best friends’ bands.

So, now, I’m turning the spolight on you, Scenesters. What are you listening to right now? What song, CD or artist is really exciting you right now? What CD refuses to leave your player, or what songs do you have on repeat on your mp3 player?

Don’t have anything this week? No worries; I’ll ask again next week… and the week after that… and the week after that. 🙂

Let’s get this discussion started, shall we?

I think my iPod loves for this week are a little insane.

First off, I can’t tell you how excited I was to go home and load The Cyrkle‘s “Red Rubber Ball” to my iPod last week.

The classic pop song came on at Pepper’s last week when I was there, and I forgot how much I loved the song as a kid (yeah, I listened to all the 80s/90s pop on the radio growing up, but I also secretly loved music from the 50s, 60s and 70s). That song is soo catchy and classic.

Another love of mine this week would be Interpol‘s “Our Love to Admire.” A friend of mine burned me a copy of the band’s 2007 album, well, pretty well in 2007, and it’s been on my iPod since. I immediately connected with “The Heinrich Maneuver,” but just couldn’t get into the rest of the album.

In my mad rushes of playlisting lately, I rediscovered how. freaking. amazing. “The Heinrich Maneuver” sounds, so I’ve been putting it on several different lists. So that made me think – if I love this one song so much, why don’t I love the rest of the album?

Turns out I do – well, now I do, anyway. I’ve been listening to “Our Love to Admire” constantly for about the last week. And you’d better believe I’m getting Interpol’s first two CDs as soon as my emusic credits refresh. Funny how music can sound so different to you – and in the many ways you can connect with it – years after hearing it the first time.

Here’s the video for “The Heinrich Maneuver.”

So, what about you? What are you listening to these days? What’s got you excited?

18 Responses to “What’s on your iPod? 2/16”

  1. Sean Kaufman February 16, 2009 at 1:59 pm #

    The Weeks …

    Can’t get enough of them. Young group from Jackson.. if you like Kings of Leon you will LOVE The Weeks, I promise!

  2. tupelobizbuzz February 16, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    I’ve been really eclectic this past week with music. I checked out a lot of blues music from the library and have been digging the Mississippi Moaners CD (http://www.amazon.com/Mississippi-Moaners-1927-1942-Various-Artists/dp/B000000G75) and some old Marlene Dietrich songs (http://www.amazon.com/Cosmopolitan-Marlene-Dietrich/dp/B0000028VY).

    But I’ve been feeling the need to dance to something with a bass line too – or at least run to something with it. I was digging Britney’s new songs, but the radio is hitting that point where the songs are a bit played out. Now, I’m jamming to Ron Browz’ “Pop Champagne,” the Veronicas’ “Untouched” and Beyonce’s “Single Ladies.”

    And, I find myself humming The All-American Rejects’ “Gives You Hell.”

    But none of those are on my actual iPod. All radio except the blues music and Marlene. I really need to update my playlists, but I’ve been lax and relying on podcasts and books on tape. Wow. Busting out my nerd factor, I know, but books on tape rock. Anyone else listen to them?

    BTW- this is the Carlie-half of Biz Buzz. Dennis isn’t a fan of booty-shaking music – that I know of.

  3. farley662 February 16, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    Darius Rucker, Montgomery Gentry, The Dubliners, Flogging Molly, and Jeremy Camp. Those are in steady rotation right now.

  4. sheenabarnett February 16, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    Sean – seems like someone was telling me about The Weeks a while back – I’ll definitely check them out!

    Farley – so I take it Daris Rucker’s new album is worth the buy? I really miss hearing his voice…it’s amazing!

    Carlie – “Dennis isn’t a fan of booty-shaking music – that I know of.” – that line makes my day! 🙂
    But yeah I’m also totally into the new All-American Rejects song – it’s so catchy! – and I’ve caught the “Single Ladies” fever too. I’ve got the video on my iPod, and I watch it all the time. One of these days I’m going to master that dance…

  5. sheenabarnett February 16, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    Oh, Carlie, I forgot to add — I’ve been listening to “Duma Key” by Stephen King as I work out. I don’t listen to it *every* time, so I’m slowly picking away at it. It’s pretty creepy…trust me when I say, don’t walk in the dark (outside) and listen to it. 🙂

  6. farley662 February 16, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    His new CD is wonderful. The drinking and dialing song is worth the price of the CD alone.

  7. Todd February 16, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    The Hold Steady, Cold War Kids, Death Cab for Cutie, and Lucero are my latest additions.

    • sheenabarnett February 16, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

      Ohhh, all of those are excellent additions…

      Are you going to see Death Cab in Memphis? I’m dying to see Ra Ra Riot, one of the opening acts.

  8. tupelobizbuzz February 16, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    farley – I didn’t peg you for a Jeremy Camp guy. Interesting. I’ve got a few of his songs on my computer. I saw him when he came to Tupelo last year or the year before and I was really impressed. A kid had a seizure in the middle of the show and he wound up stopping his set, making sure everything was OK, praying and then stopping and talking about the important things in life. It impressed me because it showed he was willing to put other people ahead of his ego.

    Sheena – what’s the band from Jackson called Foxtrot something? They played at Northstar with Wavorly last year, but I can’t remember their name. Really good, catchy band. Young, but lots of potential.

    I saw Death Cab in NYC with Franz Ferdinand and the show was good but weird. Death Cab, IMO, is one of those bands that looks good and sounds good, but leaves you as an audience member wondering what you do. It’s not high energy enough that you can jump/dance/move around, but it’s not cheesy enough that you sway with your arms in the air. Make sense? But that was three or four years ago. Maybe things have changed.

    • sheenabarnett February 16, 2009 at 5:49 pm #

      Perhaps you mean Fox Chase Drive? ( http://www.myspace.com/foxchasedrive ) I admit I don’t know much on the band, but former fourtoomany frontman Justin Posey just joined the band. I really loved Posey’s “Seasonal” EP, so I’m excited to hear what he’ll do with Fox Chase Drive.

      I have to admit I’m not a huge Death Cab fan – very little of their music has ever really, I don’t know, struck me, I guess. But I’d love to see them live anyway.

  9. tupelobizbuzz February 16, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    Fox Chase Drive!! That’s it. Justin Posey. Why does his name sound so familiar?

    • sheenabarnett February 16, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

      He made a name for himself locally as a member of fourtoomany, but he’s been doing a lot of solo stuff lately. You can check out his music here.

  10. James February 16, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    I’ve also been keeping Lucero in heavy rotation lately, along with my standard Wilco, who just happens to be playing at the Lyric Oxford on April 23!!!!!!

  11. JRAY February 16, 2009 at 9:55 pm #

    I mainly listen to my MP3 player while at the gym working out.. It keeps me motivated…
    The main band i have been listening to here lately is “A Day to Remember” and their new cd “Homesick”
    I also listen to these bands while working out:
    Between Hope and Faith (Memphis,TN)
    Dead Set (Tupelo,MS)
    Forever and Never (Fulton,MS)
    Framing Hanley (Nashville,TN)
    Story of the Year (St. Louis)

    Support Local Music*

  12. sheenabarnett February 16, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    Ah, James, the standards – those are good ones.

    Good list there, JRAY. I’m still really into Forever and Never’s EP – it sounds great.

  13. ezradaisy February 18, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    wow. i’m a little late in catching up. lately i’ve been in a mellow, good voice mood. it’s been alot of james morrison, andy davis, adele, ari heist

    oh yeah i rediscovered a cd that had been pushed to the back of the book in the car – jet “get born” i had forgotten how much i actually loved that album.

    and the other day while i was wanting to block out some background noise i cranked up the better than ezra – all of it. every album randomized and wonderful.

    so there’s my list for the week. but my emusic credits renewed so there’s no telling what will come up next time.

    • sheenabarnett February 18, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

      yep, mine renew sunday and i cannot wait…so i’m sure my list will expand next week..

Leave a comment