Turned Up, 2

11 Nov

More rambling about more favorite songs.

“Midnight at the Movies,” Justin Townes Earle

This song fits in quite nicely with the rest of Earle’s music, but there’s something wholly different about this track, and I can’t put my finger on what it is, exactly. The melody is just so mysterious to me…I feel like I could listen to it a million times over and never exactly have it figured out. But it’s stunning; the music just knocks me down every time I hear it. If the light from a movie projector could have a sound, it would sound like the music in this song.

My bff Crissy and I saw Earle in concert (opening for Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit) earlier this year, and he kept rambling around the Hi-Tone, almost daring anyone to talk to him. I really wanted to go say something to him, but I thought I’d sound stupid. Besides, all I wanted to say was: “Thanks for the music, and how’d you come up with the melody for ‘Midnight at the Movies’?”

“Maybe,” Kelly Clarkson

I have some serious, mad love for Kelly Clarkson. She has an amazing voice – both as an instrument and as a songwriter (something she’s, unfortunately, not allowed to do enough).

She especially shows off on “My December,” her best album yet. I know, it’s not as poppy as “All I Ever Wanted” or as hit-filled as “Breakaway,” but it’s a genius record. Or, it is if you’re a 20-something female.

That album was so trashed upon, but I think that’s because most of the reviewers weren’t, again, a chick in her 20s. They just didn’t get it. From bitter breakups (“Never Again”) to questioning religion (“Irvine”), the album perfectly sums up life of a 20-something woman. There are few hooks to be found, and it’s a disjointed bunch of songs. It’s life.

“Maybe” is possibly my favorite song on the album. It’s a messy, rambling little song, but Clarkson might as well have sliced open a vein for this one. The lyrics are more like lines from a diary.

“I’m confusing as hell/I’m north and south/And I’ll probably never have it all figured out/But what I know is I wasn’t meant to walk this world without you/And I promise I’ll try/Yeah, I’m gonna try to give you every little part of me/Every single detail you missed with your eyes”

and

“I don’t want to be tough/And I don’t want to be proud/I don’t need to be fixed and I certainly don’t need to be found/I’m not lost/I need to be loved/I just need to be loved/I just want to be loved by you…”

It almost scares me to put those words here, because I identify with those words so much, so I can’t even imagine how scary it must’ve been for Clarkson to sing those words and then release them into the world. This is an extraordinary track.

“I Want You,” Kings of Leon

The perfect song to play for a snogging session with somebody you’re really into. Or so I imagine. I also imagine KoL’S “Manhattan” would work well in that capacity too. Or, you know, most of “Only By the Night”…

Leave a Reply

