in the groove

28 Oct

The other day I was listening to Ryan Adams as I updated my playlists. Right as “Two” started, it hit me – I wished I had “Easy Tiger” on vinyl. I just thought about how comforting that would be – positioning my comfy recliner right in front of the player, cuddling up in my sinfully soft purple blanket and letting the record spin.

That album would sound better on vinyl. There are plenty of albums that would sound better on vinyl, actually. There’s something comforting about that warm, crackling sound that just goes with some music better.

So, here’s a quick, in-no-way-finished list of just a few of the more recent albums I wished I had on vinyl (and yes, I’m well aware some of these are available. These are just albums I think would sound amazing on vinyl..)….

Justin Townes Earle: both of his albums would sound amazing on vinyl, but I’d especially like to hear “Midnight at the Movies” on a record. My ears are almost eargasming just at the idea.
Jason Isbell: “Sirens of the Ditch” (and yes, his album with the 400 Unit would also sound great on vinyl..OK. Either one)
Ladyhawke: “Ladyhawke”
Elvis Perkins in Dearland: “Elvis Perkins in Dearland”
Justin Timberlake: “FutureSex/LoveSounds” (yet again…my ears get so excited just thinking about that one)
Kings of Leon: “Youth and Young Manhood” and “Aha Shake Heartbreak”
Coconut Records: “Nighttiming”
BLK JKS: “After Robots”
Scissor Sisters: “Scissor Sisters”
She Keeps Bees: “Nests”
Gossip: “Music for Men”
Fanfarlo: “Reservoir”
Let’s Wrestle: “In the Court of Wrestling Let’s”
Pearl Jam: “Backspacer”
MGMT: “Oracular Spectacular”
The Killers: “Hot Fuss”
The Cool Kids: “The Bake Sale”
Brendan Benson: “My Old, Familiar Friend”
Hayes Carll: “Trouble in Mind”
Jessica Lea Mayfield: “With Blasphemy So Heartfelt”
Porter Wagoner: “The Wagonmaster”
She & Him: “Volume One”
Ty Segall: “Lemons”
Ne-Yo: “Year of the Gentleman”
Jay-Z: “The Blueprint 3,” “American Gangster” and “The Black Album”
Farewell Flight: “Sound. Color. Motion.”
Spoon: “Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga”
St. Vincent: “Actor”
Colour Revolt: “Plunder, Beg and Curse”
Neko Case: “Fox Confessor Brings the Flood”
Perhapst: “Perhapst”
Fleet Foxes: “Fleet Foxes” (duh, I know)
everything by The Raconteurs/The White Stripes/anything even remotely Jack White-y
anything by Ryan Bingham
and anything, anything, anything by Damien Rice.

Again that’s not everything, just a few ideas I had…

Leave a Reply

