I can post my own, thankyouverymuch

6 Oct

recordLast Friday was a good day.

I spent the morning running errands – you know, paying rent, dropping off clothes at the Salvation Army – and that afternoon I went shopping with my mom (something that doesn’t happen often enough).

That night, “Smallville” was on her TV, and even though we’d already seen “Metallo,” we watched it again. And yet again, we both wished for a Daily Planet keychain and laughed at the same jokes. Then I got a crazy idea…and then I acted on said crazy idea…anyways. So Friday was a busy, and good, day.

So good and busy in fact that I totally forgot to e-mail in my Top 10 albums of all time list into a pop culture blog I read. That blogger was asking for readers to send in their top 10 albums of all time, and like any good music fan, I spent hours making sure my list was just right (OK, maybe not “hours” – there were a few, but not that many, as I know my basics and just had to iron out details and then write explainers….yeah).

Anyway, her deadline was Friday, and I was so busy doing…all that stuff…that I forgot to e-mail in my list. I didn’t want it to go to waste, so here it is. Share your own, wontcha?

10. “Feed the Animals,” Girl Talk – Mash-ups are cheap thrills, but Girl Talk turned mash-ups into an art form. Gregg Gillis’ work has taught me how to listen to music in a really different way, and “Feed the Animals” is his most fun album yet. Also, I went to my first Girl Talk show in February, and my life hasn’t been the same since.

9. “Picaresque,” The Decemberists – I love stories and storytellers, and I love the way The Decemberists tell stories through song. This album is beautiful and timeless.

8. “Bleed American,” Jimmy Eat World – This record came out when I was a freshman in college and has stayed with me, constantly, 8 years later. It’s comforted me through break-ups, homesickness and everything else in between.

7. “Arular,” M.I.A. – I’ll never forget the first time I heard “Bucky Done Gun” – it was like I’d been knocked over with a hammer. Such a fierce – and totally feminine – record.

6. “Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge,” My Chemical Romance – MCR is made up of comic book nerds who love glam rock – just like me! – and this album is exactly what an album by a bunch of comic book nerds who love glam rock should sound like. If you don’t like this band, you’ve forgotten what it’s like to be a teenager.

5. “Sound. Color. Motion.” Farewell Flight – I caught Farewell Flight live last year when they came through Tupelo, and I was blown away by their stellar live show. I bought this record there, and it has become my security blanket for the last year. Gorgeous album.

4. “The Beatles,” The Beatles – The White Album has always been my favorite, mostly because it contains “Dear Prudence,” which may be the most perfect song ever made.

3. “Pet Sounds,” The Beach Boys – I fell in love with the Beach Boys when I was 4. My parents bought me a double album of the greatest Beach Boys hits and I played it *constantly* on my kiddie record player. As a grown up, I still lay by my record player and watch this album spin around. I know this record better than I know myself.

2. “Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness,” Smashing Pumpkins – I shudder to think of the person I’d have become had I never heard this album. This record, as cheesy as it sounds, introduced me to me. I’m not sure of any words that can really, truly articulate what this album has done for me.

1. “Grace,” Jeff Buckley – Listening to Jeff Buckley is almost a religious experience for me. When all is wrong with the world, I can put this album on and everything’s OK. It continues to surprise and excite me, even though I, as I’ve said before, know this record better than I know me.

Share yours. Remember, these are your top 10 all-time records…

2 Responses to “I can post my own, thankyouverymuch”

  1. Heather October 6, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    I once had a single from #2. Tonight, Tonight. But, that is all I know.

Leave a Reply

