Taking a bullet for Britney

16 Jun

Britney SpearsA few weeks ago, a friend of mine called my taste in music “questionable” because I love pop music.

I wrote a long – really long – defense. I went on and on about how comforting it is to hear a song you know and love. I talked about how you always need a little sugar in a world full of vegetables.

It was this long tirade, taking bullet after bullet for Britney, Rihanna, Christina, Lady Gaga and George Michael.

Then, said friend and I went on a roadtrip this weekend, and along the way, I realized I didn’t have to defend myself. As I’ve said thousands of times before, I like what I like. I know some people want to scratch their heads when they scroll through my music and see the aforementioned artists next to the likes of Fanfarlo, St. Vincent, Let’s Wrestle and The Kills. But I like what I like. I will always love stupid, vapid pop music as much as I love my thoughtful indie rock. Simple as that.

Gah, you still want reasons, though, don’t you?  OK.

Music is about feeling, no? Or it should be, anyway. 

There’s not much on that on the radio today, unless you count sexyrobots as a feeling – but that’s just it – most, if not all, of the major pop hits are about sex. If you ever want to feel instantly slutty, pop in Britney’s “If You Seek Amy” or Rihanna’s “Please Don’t Stop the Music.” As cheap as these songs are, they’re the equivalent of an IV – the minute you’re hooked into one, the effect is immediate.

In that same vein (no pun intended), it’s a means of simple escape. No, I really don’t like Lady Gaga or her music very much at all, but would I kick a baby to live her life for all of five minutes? You bet. If, in listening to the four minutes that is “Poker Face,” I can forget that I’m a pudgy chick with a bad Southern accent, a penchant for vampires and little social life, then that’s four minutes well spent.

I also love that it’s lowest-common denominator music. For the most part, everyone has heard the songs. They may not like them, but they at least know the gist of them. Sometimes, that’s all I have to talk about with my cousins, and I’m so thankful for even that little bit. Politics and religion are off – so let’s talk about how much we love that “Single Ladies” video or that New Kids on the Block is coming to Memphis.

And yeah, that’s kind of it. If I had to give any more defense, it would just be that it’s fun. Plain and simple, turn-off-your-brain fun. The more you think about it, the less sense it makes (Britney and ‘Amy,’ I’m looking at you), so don’t.

I don’t listen to a whole lot of pop, really, but I won’t ever be the person who acts holier than thou when it comes on the radio or MTV. I’ll be the one turning it up and singing along, drifting off to a world where everybody wears glitter eye shadow and dances all night long.

What can I say? I like what I like.

2 Responses to “Taking a bullet for Britney”

  1. chino September 26, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    Carry on liking what you like, that’s the way it should be babe. I like Lady Gaga – ‘Poker face’.

  2. Heather October 18, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

    Me too, Sheena. My taste in music is random and sporadic.

Leave a Reply

