the white trash appeal of KOL

28 Apr

kings of leonOh, you Followill kids, how dirty you make me feel.

If you listen to Kings of Leon, maybe you feel the same way…

Until recently, Kings of Leon has been one of those bands that I’ve skirted around.

I heard the good reviews, heard other artists suggest the band, owned a random song or two. But I never really got obsessed with Kings of Leon til I heard the single “Sex on Fire.” As cheesy as I knew it was, I couldn’t help it; I was hooked.

Between my friend Crissy and I, we’ve managed to wrangle all the band’s albums and trade them between each other (you call it “stealing,” I call it “sharing,” and I believe my kindergarten teacher would be quite proud).

There are some Kings of Leon moments I really, truly love. Yeah, I put on “I Want You” and drive around town, because it’s a damn good driving-around-town song.
Crissy and I often and randomly quote the opening lines of “Revelry” – “What a night for a dance, you know I’m a dancing machine.” That’s a brilliant opening line.
“Taper Jean Girl” and “Red Morning Light” are so good, it’s like they’ve always been around. They’re your reliable go-to party songs that everyone somehow knows and loves, but probably doesn’t have on their iPods.
And, bless his heart, I love how that redneck lead singer Caleb Followill pronounces “higher” in “Pistol of Fire” as “haaihhhhup.”

There are some truly enjoyable moments on every album, some songs that are priceless.

The good moments outweigh the bad ones, but oh, the bad ones hurt.

“Milk,” for example. I’m partly fascinated by it because I’m fascinated with Followill’s voice, which is a black magic mix of raw sex and what it must feel like to get dragged down a dirt road. But in this song, Followill’s voice is actually grating, and that, coupled with the awful lyrics, make for a painful four minutes.

I’ve written about my love-hate relationship with “Use Somebody,” a song that, to me, is just a cold, wannabe U2/Coldplay song. I still think that, especially after seeing Karima Francis cover the song and, imho, perform it better than Kings of Leon themselves.

And there are some moments that are so, well, Kings of Leon-ish that you don’t know if they’re brilliant or cheesy. See: Followill’s screech in “Charmer” and the line “your sex is on fire.” I’m a dumbfounded as the rest of you, but I think both parts are brilliant in their cheesiness.

And, oddly enough, I think the band’s overall appearance kind of has something to do with this. The band’s older look and older sound are a little better than their current look and sound. Back in the day, the band looked like they were the long-lost nephews of the Allman Brothers. Now, their slightly more cleaned-up look makes them look more like frat guys from Ole Miss, or Union rats at the least.

Don’t worry – I love Kings of Leon. But I love them like I love Ben & Jerry’s ice cream – there are some cheesy (not literally) parts to both of them, but when it all comes down to it, it’s just so good. And I feel kinda guilty about enjoying both.

6 Responses to “the white trash appeal of KOL”

  1. Meganuke July 4, 2009 at 2:13 am #

    I completely agree with you, I enjoy almost every song of these guys, but my personal favorite is McFearless.

    Great blog you have, come and check mine when you have time

  2. Jennifer July 16, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    The fact that ‘sex on fire’ is what got you into them says it all for me lol.

  3. sheenabarnett July 16, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    very true, jennifer. i hate it that’s what got me into the band!

  4. Hello August 6, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    I really luv these guys they r great mah fav wood really hav 2 b use some they play it on the radio alot so i guess i just get lucky! 😛

  5. mise December 7, 2009 at 6:19 am #

    “sex on fire” was wat got u into KOL so u aint reali a fan uv been a fan for wat a year nw, great blog dnt get me wrng bout that but KOL are one of the biggest bands going there music changes like evry other artists yea thay mite be drukn wen day write them but there good listen to the lyrics nd u will get d music 🙂

Comments are closed.

