What’s Going On – The Beatles, U2, ‘Madea’

2 Mar

Happy Monday, Scenesters!

How was your weekend?

Mine was pretty busy – getting things done Friday, and then a wedding in Byhalia. Had a few scary moments – my broach decided to die on me, so I had to Krazy Glue it back together (and, because I’m clumsy me, I ended up Krazy Gluing my fingers together) and then my heels decided they hated my feet, so I wound up running barefoot in the snow down the streets of Byhalia. lol. Good weekend. 🙂

  • Cypress Hill is working on a new CD.
  • Here’s casting news on the new “Melrose Place” and the new vampire series, “Vampire Diaries.” Steve McQueen’s grandson – that would be one Steven McQueen – will star in “Vampire.”
  • Billy Bob Thornton’s band The Boxmasters will release a new album in April.
  • Even the Jonas Brothers couldn’t keep “Madea” from reaching No. 1 at the box office.
  • And, finally, CMT has this nice list of 10 albums you’ll want to buy to kick off your Americana collection. Although I have a feeling most good music fans already have at least a few of these.

4 Responses to “What’s Going On – The Beatles, U2, ‘Madea’”

  1. farley662 March 2, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Goodness they are pushing the bloodsuckers right now. I’d like to show them how my wooden stake sparkles!

    • sheenabarnett March 2, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

      Yeah they are! I blame the whole “Twilight” thing…and the success of “True Blood,” too.

  2. John Burrows March 2, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    FYI -On the way home from Oxford Saturday afternoon, I popped into WalMart Pontotoc. Browsing the CDs, I found they already had the new U2 disc on sale. I mentioned to the checkout clerk that the street date was not until Tuesday – she didn’t seemed to know who U2 was.

    BTW – I really like the sound. They are breaking some new ground, while also going back to some sounds not heard since “The Unforgettable Fire.”

    • sheenabarnett March 2, 2009 at 9:08 pm #

      lol, that’s funny about the Pontotoc Walmart. Lord only knows what you’ll find there. 🙂

      I haven’t given the new U2 record a listen but something tells me I should..

Leave a Reply

