Scene Picks

19 Feb

So, what are you doing this weekend?

  • The Magnolia Film Festival is this weekend! Check out our post full of trailers.
  • I didn’t love “Confessions of a Shopaholic,” but Wizard 106’s Kelli Karlson had a few laughs with it. See if you can dig it. It’s playing now.
  • The Amp theater in Oxford is showing a host of films that aren’t playing elsewhere in NeMiss, like “Milk” and “Revolutionary Road.”
  • 3 Stacks has a gig at Dr. Love Club/The Bottom Line Friday; check out the story on the rap group here on the blog.
  • John West will perform at Old Venice in Tupelo on Friday; he’ll be at the Boondocks Grill tonight (Thursday).
  • The Upside has a show at Cafe 212 in Tupelo Thursday.
  • This week’s musical guests on Thacker Mountain Radio are Ebony Hillbillies and King Curly. The authors are Gary Short and Charles P. Pierce.
  • The Zac Brown Band is playing at Rick’s Cafe in Starkville Friday. Sonia Leigh opens.
  • Keller Williams will perform at The Lyric Oxford tonight.
  • The Mayhem String Band shakes up The State Theatre in Starkville tonight.

7 Responses to “Scene Picks”

  1. farley662 February 19, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    Any idea why Starkville always seems to get bigger name and better bands than Oxford? I know you have a fondness for the local Oxford music scene, but that doesn’t count in the question.

  2. sheenabarnett February 20, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    I think it might all depend on what you mean by “bigger name and better bands.”

    For indie rock fans, Oxford’s winning that race, with the The Lyric Oxford getting huge shows like Girl Talk, Modest Mouse and Wilco (I know both Girl Talk and Modest Mouse are sell-outs and I’d bet my last dollar that Wilco will be too). Proud Larry’s/The Library is just as successful, getting acts like Animal Collective and Alejandro Escovedo.

    But if you’re more of a country fan, Starkville probably wins your heart with booking bands like Zac Brown Band, Eric Church and Darius Rucker. (to be fair, The Lyric Oxford has made a real effort to bring in country acts as well)
    Rick’s has done a great job of getting a variety of acts, like Hinder, Seether and Snoop Dogg (I’m pretty sure Snoop Dogg sold out, and again I’d bet my last dollar Hinder did too). The State Theatre there is just getting started in regular, huge booking, and I’m super-excited about what they’re going to bring in.

    I think you’re right, that Starkville gets more “bigger name,” mainstream acts. But to many music fans in Oxford, it doesn’t get any bigger than their idol Jeff Tweedy and his band Wilco. I think the more mainstream acts just work better in Starkville. I think it would be interesting to compare a mainstream artist (of any genre)’s ticket sales in Oxford and Starkville.

    Either way, I think both cities do a great job in bringing in terrific talent to Northeast Mississippi. I know I thought I’d never in my life see Snoop Dogg, and I did thanks to Rick’s, and I never thought I’d see Girl Talk, but I did thanks to The Lyric Oxford. I consider myself lucky that they’re both only about an hour from me! 🙂

  3. Sean Kaufman February 20, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    See I think Oxford is KILLING Starkville on booking!

    In the past 6 months I’ve seen Conor Oberst, Jenny Lewis, The Drive By Truckers, The Hold Steady, The Loved Ones, STS9, Yonder Mountain String Band, The Disco Biscuits, Citizen Cope, Girl Talk and Old Crow Medicine Show.

    Sure there’s been a few good shows in Starkville, but as someone who goes to shows in both places, I find myself in Oxford a whole lot more. It’s a shame too because I tend to like the crowds in Starkville better. I wish the State Theatre would step up their booking to the standard the Lyric in Oxford has set because State Theatre is just as nice a venue.

  4. sheenabarnett February 20, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    Ah, Sean, good point — I forgot about a lot of those shows! I can’t believe I did!

    I really think the State Theatre will soon get better acts – I mean there’s absolutely no reason acts that have sold out in Oxford couldn’t sell out there.

    But again I think it all boils down to someone’s definition of what a good show is, basically. I know plenty of folks who would never go see Hinder, for instance, who did so well at Rick’s; but plenty of folks who’ll see that Animal Collective is at The Library and say, “Um, who?” lol…all depends on what you listen to.

  5. farley662 February 20, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    Citizen Cope is the only one you listed that I would even consider going to. I’m talking mainstream big label artists. I’m sure some indie music is alright, but it’s not my thing. I guess the hippie gene was one I did not get.

  6. Sean Kaufman February 20, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    I really hope so. JJ Grey & Mofro’s show at The State Theatre was one of those most raucous shows I saw last year. It was so much fun! The crowd was amazing and MOFRO was on fire.

    Speaking of, JJ Grey and MOFRO are at Proud Larry’s in Oxford Saturday night with Hightide Blues.

    That’s not on your list 😉

  7. sheenabarnett February 20, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    farley – yeah, like I said, I think the more mainstream acts just work better down in Starkville. But again, there are some folks who, for them, it doesn’t get any bigger (though not necessarily “mainstream”) than Wilco, Modest Mouse, etc.

    Sean – you know, I’ve always heard good stuff about JJ Grey shows…I need to get to one of them! Unfortunately we can’t list every show but it’s through conversations like these that they get listed anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

