Show & Tell

12 Feb

What pop culture-y goodness are you in love with this week?

I feel like a cheater – I’ve given my heart away to a lot this week! Maybe this whole Valentine’s Day mess has gotten to me. Either way, here’s a list of stuff that won my heart this week:

  • “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman
    The Graveyard Book
    Think of it as a morbid version of “The Jungle Book.” The book tells about the story of Nobody Owens, a live boy who’s raised in a graveyard. From his adventures with his pal Scarlett to his frightening journey through the Ghoul Gates, the story is refreshing, sweet and scary. I’m not ashamed to say I cried at the end. Perfect from beginning to end.

  • Ladyhawke’s self-titled debut album
    Yeah, I’m just now discovering dear Ladyhawke. I think we could’ve been each other in another life; this is how she describes herself on her MySpace page: “I’m a lady who loves to play. I love video games. I love my guitars. Synths. Cats.”
    Her music is a throwback to the 80s, with lots of fun synths and a cool attitude. Songs like “My Delirium,” “Paris is Burning” and “Manipulating Woman” are instant classics.
    And I know, the world is going crazy for someone who, on the surface, sounds a lot like our dear Ladyhawke. But trust me on this one – Ladyhawke is the healthy alternative to Lady Gaga.
  • Lily Allen’s “It’s Not Me, It’s You”
    I got Allen’s new album yesterday, the day it dropped, and have listened to it maybe three times today. I didn’t think I’d really like it as much as I do, but surprise! My favorites are “Never Gonna Happen” and “F*** You,” and the rest of the tracks are just as fun. Whee!
  • Cornify.com – “The #1 unicorn and rainbow service worldwide.”
    Click the “cornify” button and get zillions of glittery unicorns and rainbows. Check the bottom of the page for ninja and Hoff pages. Rad!

So what are you in love with this week? Show & tell!

Leave a Reply

