Scene Picks

12 Feb

A whole list of things to do this weekend…

  • Paul Thorn will be at Benjamin’s on Main Saturday night.
  • Alvis Hatch & the Grace Based Band will perform at Boondocks Grill in Tupelo tonight.
  • Last year’s “American Idol” winner David Cook has a gig at the Ford Center at Ole Miss Sunday.
  • Benjy Davis Project is at Rick’s Cafe in Starkville tonight, and Sister Hazel will be there Friday.
  • Girl Talk is at The Lyric Oxford Friday night, with Old Crow Medicine Show there Saturday.
  • Eric Stogner will share some tunes at The Stables Friday.
  • Ricky Peardon is bringing his brand of comedy to Vanelli’s in Tupelo this weekend.

8 Responses to “Scene Picks”

  1. James February 13, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    Sadly I am still without Girl Talk tickets, but I did score one for Old Crow! Should be a great show.

    • sheenabarnett February 13, 2009 at 11:33 am #

      I’ve always wanted to see Old Crow! Hopefully I can score some tickets of my own..

  2. Sean Kaufman February 14, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    GirlTalk was insane last night! My ribs freakin hurt from that show.

    Ill be at Old Crow tongiht tooo.. Looking forward to seeing the Felice Brothers .. theyre reallly good!

    • sheenabarnett February 15, 2009 at 10:57 am #

      I’m still hurting from Girl Talk..just sore all over! But it was so worth it – I had a blast.

      Jealous I missed Old Crow, but I’ll catch them next time…How was it?

  3. Sean Kaufman February 15, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    Old Crow was awesome. So were The Felice Brothers.. I love those guys. At one point it just turned into a big ole party on stage with both groups playing at once. Great show.

    • sheenabarnett February 15, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

      Oh wow, that sounds amazing!

      *sigh* I wish I lived closer to The Lyric Oxford; I’d probably be there every night..

  4. John West February 16, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    The Old Crow Medicine Show in Oxford was pretty awesome! Lots of great music from both bands, who I had never really listened to before! It was kinda mind blowing! Got to meet James Felice! (which the song he sang gave me the chills!!) The encore included “Frankie’s Gun” and a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Lay Lady Lay” !!!

    • sheenabarnett February 16, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

      Oh, wow, that sounds amazing. I wish I could’ve heard “Lay Lady Lay.” Awesome!

Leave a Reply

