What’s Going On – Dent May, Super Bowl ads, Taylor Swift

2 Feb

Merry Monday, dears!

Hope you had a great weekend.

Mine was made a million times better by diet soda cupcakes. My bff Hannah told me I could make a cake or cupcakes using a diet soda and cake mix (nothing else!). Sure enough, it works. I mixed Coke Zero and some kind of super-moist chocolate cake mix and baked them for about 15 minutes. They are delicious!! I think I’m officially addicted. For “icing” I just used fat-free whipped cream. Heavenly, I tell you!

Anyways, here’s some news…

  • Paste Magazine offers a review of Oxford resident Dent May’s new CD.
  • Neil Gaiman’s “The Graveyard Book” will soon hit the big screen (I’m reading this right now and I highly recommend it!)
  • Tomorrow marks the 50th anniversary of the plane crash that killed Buddy Holly, the Big Bopper and Richie Valens. Rolling Stone remembers them in this piece.

12 Responses to “What’s Going On – Dent May, Super Bowl ads, Taylor Swift”

  1. James February 3, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    I was at Dent’s CD release party saturday night…good stuff.

  2. James February 4, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    Well there weren’t just a load of people there…they closed off part of the lyric..but from what I remember, it was a blast!

    • sheenabarnett February 4, 2009 at 1:45 pm #

      Dude, I’d have thought the place would be packed.
      “but from what I remember” – lol 🙂

  3. James February 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    Yeah, dude’s got talent, and he’s def. going places.

    • sheenabarnett February 4, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

      Yeah, I so wanted to go. Again with the jealousy.:) Did you get his record?

  4. James February 4, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    I was sans cash at the moment, but my roomie picked one up and I absolutely adore it. My current fave is “Can’t Force a Dance Party.” I first heard Dent perform that number last April at Double Decker and absolutely fell in love. There’s something magical about his sound..

    • sheenabarnett February 4, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

      and my jealousy continues…
      I hope to pick up a copy the next time I make it over Oxford way.

  5. James February 4, 2009 at 1:59 pm #

    You so should. The film festival’s this weekend, so you’d be bagging to excellent birds with a relatively small stone…yeah, that was just lame. but you get the idea. 🙂

    • sheenabarnett February 4, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

      lol nah it’s not so lame. 🙂
      Yeah I’m hoping I can stop by there. I know for sure I’m going to the Girl Talk show next weekend, though, too. Hopefully I can work in a visit to Purple Haze in the midst of all these goings and doings!

  6. James February 4, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    Ahh lucky you w/ the GirlTalk tickets..if I see you at the fest, I’ll make sure to say hello!

    • sheenabarnett February 4, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

      Do that. We can talk about how jealous we are over each other’s pop culture-y possessions 🙂

Leave a Reply

