“American Idol” – Early favorites

2 Feb

Now that the audition rounds are up, who are you really looking forward to watching in Hollywood Round and beyond?

What’s surprised me about this year is that I’ve basically liked everybody showcased that made it through to Hollywood.

There are very few contestants I found I’ve really liked, though – as in, enough to remember them a day after watching their audition.

Probably my favorite so far is Megan Corkrey – you know, the newly-single mom with the full sleeve of tattoos who sang “Can’t Help Loving that Man of Mine.” She has a gorgeous voice, and a very easy-going, radiant personality. You can’t help but want to root for her.

My second favorite is Kai Kalama, who sang ”Smoke Gets in Your Eyes” and spoke about how he takes care of his sick mom and wants to support her. I loved his voice.

Others that caught my eye…

I’m not sure that Rose Flack (blonde girl who had lost her parents; sang “I Feel the Earth Move”) has the voice for “Idol,” but I think she’ll be a lot of fun to watch.

I’m excited about Leneshe Young, the teen who sang her original song, “Natty.” If she can write a song that well, she’s got more tricks up her sleeve, I’m sure.

I’m curious about Adam Lambert, the guy who performed a “theatrical” version of “Bohemian Rhapsody.” I agreed with Simon that it was a little too theatrical, but he sang it really well. I’d like to see him take on a song/band that isn’t so…well…theatrical. 🙂

Who are you rooting for?

4 Responses to ““American Idol” – Early favorites”

  1. Hester February 3, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    I’m looking forward to seeing what the blind guy can do. And the 16 year old girl from Starkville – we have to root for the homegirl. She was pretty good!

    • sheenabarnett February 3, 2009 at 10:57 am #

      Yeah, I think a lot of folks want to see more of Scott MacIntyre. I feel like all we know about him is that he’s the blind guy – I don’t think the audience has a good idea of his voice yet.
      I’m definitely rooting for Jasmine Murray!

  2. tupeloginny February 3, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    I like the girl with the arm tattoos, too! Hey, did you know that Kara DiGuardio (sp) did a song for the Disney movie Camp Rock? Do you really think she and Simon don’t get along or is that just an act?

    • sheenabarnett February 3, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

      I think she and Simon definitely butt heads, but that they basically get along. I love how she’s not afraid to speak her mind.

Leave a Reply

