“American Idol” talk, 1/21

22 Jan

Continuing our chat about “Idol” here on Scene Now, as the audition round continues.

After our discussion about the new “Idol” judge Kara DioGuardi  yesterday, let’s talk today about the judges as a whole.

Does the judges’ opinions have any impact on who you vote/root for, or who you like or dislike?

Is there any judge in particular you usually agree with or usually disagree with?

I find myself usually agreeing with Simon, even if he can be mean at times. Even if I immediately disagree with him, I usually end up agreeing with him after re-watching the performance.

I think Randy is a great judge when it comes to determining how a performance relates to the audience. He says, “I don’t know, it didn’t really work for me, dog,” but usually when Randy says that, it generally didn’t connect with the crowd either.

Of course, it’s easy  – and passe, imo – to take shots at Paula Abdul and her tendency to love everything. But at the same time, I think it is commendable that she always tries to find something positive about the contestants or their performances.

I don’t know how Kara will judge come time for the finals, but I have a feeling I’m going to trust – and generally agree with – her opinion.

What about y’all? Do the judges have any impact on you or how you determine how to vote?

2 Responses to ““American Idol” talk, 1/21”

  1. coffee January 23, 2009 at 12:57 am #

    Kara DioGuardi’s cuteness almost makes up for Simon’s horrid haircut

  2. sheenabarnett January 25, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    lol — that is indeed an old style…you’d think he’d keep up with the times 🙂

Leave a Reply

