American Idol talk, 1/14

14 Jan

Technically I’m off Thursday, loves, but I’ll try to moderate/talk back with y’all as needed when I can.

“Idol” continues auditions; we’ll continue our “Idol” conversations…

So, who’s your favorite Idol – winner, runners-up or contestants?

My pick is the original “Idol” champ, Kelly Clarkson.

I’d liked Clarkson’s work – come on, how can you hate “Since U Been Gone,” “Behind These Hazel Eyes” or “Walk Away” – but what really won me over was her show with Reba McEntire at the BancorpSouth Arena in Tupelo last year.

I was worried McEntire would try to steal the show – she’s got such a huge voice! – but Clarkson definitely held her own. I just didn’t realize what a voice she had on her until I saw her live.

And, unlike the rest of the world, I loved her last album, “My December.” Sure, it may have not been the poppiest, glossiest, shiny-happy-people release of the year, but it was honest. It was a messy, complicated record, one that really, in my opinion, shows what it’s like to be a woman in her 20s. I think that’s why many reviewers probably didn’t like it.

What I’m not as positive about is her new single, “My Life Would Suck Without You.” Ten minutes after listening to it, I forgot what it even sounded like. Not a good sign. It’s a little too syrupy for my taste right now, but I’m hoping the rest of hew new record has more grit to it.

My other favorite Idols?
Carrie Underwood, of course. I can’t say I like all of her material. But, every time I want to hate on her, I just think: this is the lady that brought us “Before He Cheats.”
Michael Johns – remember the good-looking Aussie gent from last season? Yeah, him. The only single I bought of his from the Idol store on iTunes was his cover of Dolly Parton’s “It’s All Wrong, but It’s All Right,” but I loved his take on it. Wonder what he’s up to these days?

What about yours? Let’s talk!

2 Responses to “American Idol talk, 1/14”

  1. amy January 16, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    Hands down I LOVE LOVE LOVE David Cook!!! If i wasnt married, he would be in trouble! Jason Castro’s brother has a really awesome voice also!

  2. sheenabarnett January 18, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    You’re not alone in that sentiment, Amy! He’s got a TON of fans out there.

    Unfortunately I missed Jason Castro’s brother Wednesday — I DVR’d it but the station messed up, so I couldn’t see a thing. How did he do?

Leave a Reply

