Wishful playlisting

13 Jan

I spent much time this past weekend making playlists – big surprise, eh?

I’ve listened to two of them today, and I was surprised at how I felt about both of them.

“Wishful Make-Upping” is all of my 80s music; “I Totally Paused” is all my 90s music. (Yeah, I name my playlists after movie quotes. Points to the person who can name the flicks from which those quotes came)

Those playlists makes sense to me – I spent the 1980s learning how to do important things like talk, walk, read, write. I spent the 1990s mostly in middle and high school, dreaming about boys, watching “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and “Dawson’s Creek” and going to see as many scary movies as possible. The music that came out during those decades are really important to me, even if they’re not always the best songs ever.

So both playlists were completely for nostalgic purposes. It’s really comforting to go back and listen to those old tunes I loved so much growing up (note: even though I grew up listening to “classic” rock, I didn’t include any in either playlist, because I only wanted to focus on 80s/90s music)

I have other playlists, but those two may be my favorites. If you follow Scene Now on Twitter, you probably noticed I spent the morning rocking out to Bonnie Tyler, George Michael and Spandau Ballet; now I’m working on my 90s mix, listening to TLC, Gin Blossoms and Oasis. The 80s mix was so much fun. The 90s mix has, I don’t know, a sense of drama to it…maybe because of all the drama of teenage years? 🙂

Does anybody else do those? Just ginormous lists of songs that made you happy when you were 4 or 14? If you do, share them!

And, because I love to share music – a small sampling of music on each playlist after the jump…

“I Totally Paused” – a 90s music playlist – a sampling
“You & Me Song,” The Wannadies (picked from the “Romeo + Juliet” soundtrack)
“Little Things,” Bush
“Here,” Luscious Jackson
“Only Happy When It Rains,” Garbage
“Stitches,” Orgy
“Spiderwebs,” No Doubt
“Bittersweet Symphony,” The Verve
“My Name is Jonas,” Weezer
“The Ghost in You,” Counting Crows (originally on the “Clueless” soundtrack; now on a reissue of “August and Everything After”)
“Every You Every Me,” Placebo
“Strong,” Velvet Chain (off the “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” soundtrack – the show not the movie:))
“Stay,” Lisa Loeb & Nine Tails
“Talk Show Host,” Radiohead
“Barely Breathing,” Duncan Sheik
“I Want You,” Savage Garden
“Fade Into You,” Mazzy Star
“Alright,” Supergrass

“Wishful Make-upping” – an 80s playlist – a sampling
“Every Little Step,” Bobby Brown
“Material Girl,” Madonna
“All Through the Night,” Cyndi Lauper
“I Melt With You,” Modern English
“Caribbean Queen (No More Love on the Run),” Billy Ocean
“Pretty in Pink,” The Psychadelic Furs
“Friday I’m in Love,” The Cure
“If You Leave,” OMD
“Somebody’s Watching Me,” Rockwell
“Nasty,” Janet Jackson
“Heard Somebody Cry,” Oingo Boingo
“You Belong to the City,” Glenn Frey (woot for “Miami Vice” soundtrack!)
“On the Dark Side,” John Cafferty & The Beaver Brown Band (anybody else remember “Eddie & the Cruisers”? iTunes says it was released in ’90..whatev:))
“Everything She Wants,” Wham!
“Total Eclipse of the Heart,” Bonnie Tyler
“Our Lips are Sealed,” The Go-Gos
“West End Girls,” Pet Shop Boys
“I Didn’t Mean to Turn You On,” Robert Palmer

Share your own songs! Share your own playlists! Let’s talk!

2 Responses to “Wishful playlisting”

  1. fullofuselessinfo January 14, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    pretty in pink & clueless, respectively

Leave a Reply

