Life with Lucy: Desperate times call for drastic measures

8 Jan

BY LAURA SANDIFORD

I try to be the best pet-mom as possible, but every now and then I have days where mistakes happen. This is true with all Moms, right?  Sometimes I forget and leave things out that Lucy shouldn’t be eating or chewing on, and she typically ingests it, or at the very least shreds it to unrecognizable bits.

This past week Lucy and I had one of those days… again.  It was a typical day. I showered and dressed for work. Lucy laid in the bathroom doorway watching my every move. She knew what was about to happen. I was going to leave her cooped up all by herself.

I went through the usual routine. I picked up shoes, closed all the bedroom doors,  put the trash can in the bathroom and tightly secured the door, and finally I surveyed the area for any thing that shouldn’t left out for Lucy to eat or annihilate. Everything appeared to be in order and I left her with a final, “Be a good girl today.”

I really believe she tries to be a good girl, but she can’t restrain herself sometimes. Sometimes I even blame myself for not knowing better than to leave an half-empty takeout box on the counter…even if I do push it to the back corner where she can’t possibly reach the temptation.  Yes, she can manage to retrieve anything she likes off the kitchen counter or the table for that matter. I don’t know how she does it but she manages.

She once ate an entire loaf of Wonder bread that was on the counter, in a bowl and pushed up against the wall. When I got home that day she was lying on the coach with a swollen belly. The bread bag was on the floor, largely intact. She had ripped a hole in the top end of the bag, just to left of the tie, and she left behind only the end pieces. (I don’t blame her for that, I don’t eat the “booty pieces” either.)

On this particular day, Lucy ran out of water in her dish. I had forgotten to fill it up before leaving for work that day.  Since the toilet was unavailable, she took matters into her own paws. She sniffed out the only available water source in our home: a new case of bottled water.

When I arrived home from work, I found Lucy cowered under the table. That’s her hiding place when she’s done something that she anticipates will lead to a reprimand.

The next thing I noticed was bottles of water strewn around the kitchen.  The bottle path led into the hallway and around into the living room. This is where I found the box and the majority of bottles. Because I’ve seen much worse, I wasn’t very upset about this episode. I called Lucy out of her hiding spot to let her know there was no need for a time-out.

As I began picking up the bottles I noticed a few looked empty. I thought there’s no way that she could’ve … she wouldn’t… would she? Yes – two of the bottles were bone dry, squished in at the center and had tiny puncture marks. A third bottle was punctured but was only half empty.  I guess she quit when she quenched her thirst.

Apparently Lucy prefers bottled water over tap.

Now i just have to find a Lucy-proof place to store the water. Easier said than done.

Share your own pet stories!

4 Responses to “Life with Lucy: Desperate times call for drastic measures”

  1. tupeloginny January 8, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    Well thank goodness they don’t but beer in plastic bottles! That is a funny story.

  2. lauralucysmom January 8, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    Well thank goodness I don’t drink beer! Life with Lucy would get out of hand if I tried to manage while inebriated.

  3. bigdraws January 13, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    They do sell beer in plastic bottles. Never been to an NFL game?

  4. beagle January 14, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    What a smart yet mischievous pup! 🙂

    If you ever look into the water bowls that cycle the water and keep it clean check out the Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain, we LOVE it. We have 2 dogs (beagle and a dachshund) and 4 cats and everyone can drink out of it. It has a water reservoir on the back that holds a lot of water, normally I just clean it and refill about once a week.

Leave a Reply

