“Rock”-a-bye-baby?

29 Dec

I was just driving around town, listening to Tawny on KZ103, when she told about this story that ran earlier this month in the New York Times.

A host of (mostly) British moms took a survey and revealed that they don’t sing “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” or “Itsy-Bitsy Spider” to their kids – they sing “Beautiful” by Christina Aguilera, “Wonderwall” by Oasis and “I Kissed a Girl” by Katy Perry. Pop music, not lullabies.

I can definitely relate. Not that I have kids, but I remember vividly what my mom sang to me. She sang her favorite songs by Willie Nelson and Hank Williams (senior….although my classes always sang Jr.’s songs on the bus to field trips), like “Hey Good Lookin’,” “If You’ve Got the Money,” “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry” and “Crazy.” But I don’t remember her actually playing the original versions – I just remember her singing them. I guess I was too busy listening to whatever my older (and therefore cooler) cousin was into, and then at about 4 I hit my oldies period where I wanted to hear nothing but The Beach Boys, The Supremes and Fats Domino (I loved “Blueberry Hill” something fierce).

I really wasn’t into country until college, when I finally realized how much I loved Willie, Hank, Patsy, Buck, Johnny and, well, the list goes on. Then I went back and heard all those old songs my mama sang to me, and it was almost weird to hear somebody else sing those songs.

Funny what songs soothe you, eh? I thought it was funny that Perry’s “I Kissed a Girl” was No. 3 on the story’s list. I can’t say much, though – my favorite as a kid was Hank’s “There’s a Tear in my Beer.” 🙂

What songs do you sing to your kids? What songs did your parents sing to you?

6 Responses to ““Rock”-a-bye-baby?”

  1. farley662 December 29, 2008 at 8:35 pm #

    I sing “This Little Light of Mine”, “Amazing Grace”, and “I’ll Fly Away” to Aedan. And some other contemporary Christian songs.

  2. sheenabarnett December 30, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    Ohhh, “I’ll Fly Away” is one of my favorites. Such a gorgeous song!

  3. ezradaisy December 31, 2008 at 12:37 am #

    i don’t remember my mom singing that much to me as a young child but i do remember listening to things like “have you ever seen the rain” by ccr, “cocaine” by clapton and “lyin’ eyes” by the eagles.

  4. sheenabarnett December 31, 2008 at 1:35 pm #

    yeah..that’s mostly what my mom was playing us, not really singing. a TON of ccr, eagles, clapton, doobie brothers. good stuff. 🙂

  5. Tawny December 31, 2008 at 4:31 pm #

    Oh my gosh – so people actually listen to me, lol! I wonder sometimes!
    You made my day!
    And for the record my Mom didn’t sing to me, that I can remember… but my family had everything in the house blasting from Johnny Mathis to Elvis to Judas Priest to Glen Campbell. Now, there’s a range for ya!!
    😉

  6. sheenabarnett December 31, 2008 at 4:38 pm #

    Oh yes, I listen to you every time I get the chance! 🙂

    lol, your home sounds like mine! My mom sang country but listened mostly to classic rock, but my cousin was into all the Top 40 hits. We heard a little bit of everything! 🙂 But I think that just makes growing up even more fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

