What’s Going On – Grammys, movie remakes

4 Dec

Happy Thursday, y’all!

Still sick, but actually at work today (yesterday’s post was from home). Ugh. Hate being sick.

Enough of my complainin’…let’s get to news.

  • The Grammy nominations are out. I’m happy to see Ne-Yo so nominated. Woot!
  • Maybe it’s the cold meds talking but I don’t think I’m OK with an “Arthur” remake starring Russell Brand.
  • Speaking of remakes, “They Live” is getting remade.
  • “Dr. Horrible” fans will appreciate the latest MySpace Dark Horse Presents, as there’s a Moist comic. Woot!

3 Responses to “What’s Going On – Grammys, movie remakes”

  1. tupelobizbuzz December 4, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    Don’t forget about Rowling’s Beedle Bard launching today. Woot woot.

    http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5iOBX4HksHmZXckOfx2KH3AVBOfOwD94RVA9O1

  2. Scratch December 4, 2008 at 5:46 pm #

    Ok, I may have to mount the ol’ Scratchtastic Soap Box for a minute.
    Remaking movies…why, just shy? Did we really need a full lenght feature film of the “Beverly Hillbillies”? Or “Bewitched”? Or countless others?
    Sure, Jessica Simpson in a pair of short-shorts…I’m good with that – if it’s a photograph or she’s washing my car, but to make an entire move about the “Dukes of Hazzard”? Please. It’s bad enough that some brainchild thought it would be a good idea to remake “Get Smart” (blasphemy, BTW), but now Hollywood is green lighting an “Arthur” remake. Part of me is glad that Dudley Moore and Sir John Gielgud didn’t live to see this upcoming trainwreck. Someone just stab me in the neck so the hurting will stop. While we’re at it, let’s all pump money into creative writing classes in our public schools so that maybe, oh…I don’t know, someone will arrive in LA County with an original thought that doesn’t include recasting Ralph Kramden or Huggy Bear.
    *deep breath*
    That being said, “They Live” could have potential without violating the cheesy-goodness of “Rowdy” Roddy Piper’s screen masterpiece.

    Oh yeah…the New York Dolls…fantastic, cannot wait.

  3. sheenabarnett December 4, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    Good call there buzz. 🙂

    I totally agree, Scratch. I just don’t get them at all.
    I’m just a classic movie nut, so I guess I’ll stick with those.:)

Leave a Reply

