Life with Lucy: All Hopped Up on Trash

30 Nov

BY LAURA SANDIFORD

Lucy has a confession to share. She’s has a deep-seated addiction to trash. She recently ran across the trashcan jackpot.

I was in a baking mood, so I decided to make double chocolate brownies. I gathered the ingredients, which included multiple squares of baker’s chocolate, chocolate chips and instant coffee grounds. For any chocolate lover, these brownies are the perfect fix.

Since the recipe makes a ton of brownies, I decided to share them with my co-workers. I wrapped up several of them in plastic wrap for easy transportation. The brownies were a hit and only a few were left over. I ended up throwing out a couple of brownies because somehow they ended up squished and crumbled.

On this particular day I forgot to put the trash out of Lucy’s reach before leaving to run a few errands. The trashcan was nearly empty. I couldn’t think of anything in it to seduce her into a rumble in the plastic.  I must have been thinking that surely Lucy could control herself for an hour or so while I grabbed dinner with a friend.

Apparently, I was not thinking at all. I returned home to find the trash can tipped over and the garbage bag turned inside out (she can lick away the gooey goodness better that way).

I also found shredded plastic wrap, sans brownies.  Yes, I am ashamed to say it, but she ate two large double chocolate brownies. I immediately began to panic, thinking she was going to die. This is it, I thought; she has unknowingly overdosed on chocolate.

After calming down and regaining my composure, I realized the only side effect she had was suffering from is a caffeine high.

She couldn’t sit still. She couldn’t even stay focused long enough to annihilate one toy at a time. She bounced around the living room furniture like a pinball. We set a record for number of trips outside that night.

Needless to say, we didn’t get a lot of sleep that night, but Lucy doesn’t have to work for her kibble!

5 Responses to “Life with Lucy: All Hopped Up on Trash”

  1. Todd December 1, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Glad to hear Lucy and owner made it through this chocolate binge. Thanks for sharing the story.

  2. tupeloalan December 1, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    I have had the same problem before. Anybody got any solutions about keeping your dog friend out of the trash?

  3. sheenabarnett December 1, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    I was there the night of Lucy’s chocolate high…it was hilarious, bless her heart. 🙂

  4. tupelobizbuzz December 1, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    LOL. Your dog is too funny. What’s her favorite people food?

  5. tupeloginny December 1, 2008 at 7:48 pm #

    Silly Lucy – brownies are for two-legged animals!

Leave a Reply

