Vanilla Ice in Tupelo

24 Nov

The talk of the town in Tupelo this weekend was the Vanilla Ice concert at Benjamin’s on Main.

I didn’t go since I was out of town, but I heard about a lot of folks who went.

April – better known to Scene Now readers as mangledfairy or popculturefairy – went and has a show review up on her Web site, Pop Culture Overdose. You can read her review by clicking here.

What about it, Scene Now cats? Did you go? If you did, what did you think?

3 Responses to “Vanilla Ice in Tupelo”

  1. popculturefairy November 24, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    It was the most insane show I’ve ever experienced!’

    Thanks for posting the link. =P

  2. Neil November 25, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    I was very reluctant to dish out $25 (at the door) to see someone who has not largely been in the lime light in somewhere near a decade; except for his ‘Surreal Life’ tirade on Ron Jeremy. I was talked into going by some friends, and by the time the show started at 10:20pm, advertised at 9:30, I was really wondering if I had wasted my money.

    Once the show did start, I was blown away at what an energetic show Ice put on with such a small production. I also thought it was neat that he pulled a couple of the ladies up on stage to dance, but once the number grew to nearly 30, it was a bit much. At one point you could not even see him for all the water and Jager soaked women!

    His “raping” set ended somewhere near 11:15pm, then in-which he stayed on stage to mix some music “DJ” style till around 11:30pm, ; then left the stage.

    I manage to speak to him briefly after the show was over and he seemed like a very nice guy.

    All-n-all, I would have to give the show a 7 (out of 10). Even though the venue was small, and it was a million dollar production, he still put on a very good show!

    Neil

  3. popculturefairy November 26, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    I thought the show was pretty insane…the performance was really good…

Leave a Reply

