Life with Lucy: Meet Lucy

24 Nov

lucy-napping

Lucy

Editor’s Note: Life with Lucy is a new pet column here on Scene Now, written by Journalite Laura Sandiford. It will run every Sunday, but we’re kicking off the first edition today. Share your stories about your pets!

BY LAURA SANDIFORD

If you haven’t met Lucy, now is the time.

Everyone loves her. Anyone who meets her instantly loves her. She’s the got the most adorable face that will melt your heart – or so I’m told.

Lucy is my 2-year old Beagle-rador (Beagle/Labrador mix), who was adopted during a chance happening visit to the local Co-op.

When I met my Lucy, I was not on a puppy mission. I had thought about getting a dog, but I had not yet met the right canine.   Finally, on a cold January day, I saw her. It was puppy love at first sight. It was the cutest little chocolate brown puppy curled up in a large crate with her brothers and sisters. Lucy was the shy one of the bunch. While her siblings begged for attention, she stayed curled up only peering out at the gawking crowd with her golden eyes.

I am not sure why I was drawn to her, but at that moment, I knew I needed to take her home with me. It required semi-crawling into the giant kennel around the over eager pups to scoop her up, but once I was holding her, she immediately snuggled herself in under my warm coat.  Maybe she knew we were meant to be, or maybe she was just cold.

It was only after a few timid days that I finally met the REAL LUCY.

The REAL LUCY is anything but timid and shy. She is a shoe annihilator, trash connoisseur, toilet paper unroller, candy thief, bed hog and treat glutton that I love unconditionally.
She may not be perfectly balanced or in a calm state, and from time to time thinks she is my master, but Lucy and I are a team. She keeps life interesting and is constantly providing me with a funny story to share.

Because Life with Lucy is never boring, her Fan Club decided it would be an injustice to man-kind to withhold our daily adventures from the world. For your reading pleasure I present you with…..

That’s okay, I like open-toed better anyway

Lucy and I were still in the early days of our relationship together when we discovered our shared love for shoes. We love all the same brands and styles. We especially like leather boots!

The day I discovered our mutual affection for footwear, it had been a long day at the office. I spent most of it on my feet in a pair of new, uncomfortable brown wedges. These shoes were chic and fashionable, but by noon I swore I would never again sacrifice pinky toe space in the name of copying trendsetters. I vowed that I would go back to wearing my comfortable, broken-in square-toed ankle boots.

When I got home I had hopes that Lucy had been good all day and not left me any shredded tissue, strewn trash or OTHER surprises similar to the ones she had left me earlier that week.
I opened the door and breathed a sigh of relief… trash intact… toilet paper still on the roll… and no puddles or piles… all is well.

I immediately headed to the bedroom kicking the awful toe-pinching shoes into the corner, dreaming of my terry-cloth slippers on my way there. My slippers were right there by the bed, exactly where I left them.

However, that was not the first thing that caught my eye. It was my comfortable, broken-in square-toed ankle boots that were now an open-toed version. Words escaped me; I did not know what to say.

I wish you could have seen Lucy’s face. She was so proud of her work. It must her taken her all day to fix my shoes!

Share your own pet stories!

7 Responses to “Life with Lucy: Meet Lucy”

  1. toddv November 25, 2008 at 6:42 am #

    Thanks for the post Laura. Enjoyed it. Looking forward to more. Hope to hear from other pet lovers in Northeast Mississippi.

  2. molly November 25, 2008 at 7:10 am #

    Thank you for being a pet person and more props for writing a column about what I can only hope would be your “better half” (smile) – or at least your “better third” — in case you have a husband.

    I also have a better half, a chow-mix — – — The very spoiled master of this household — –
    Ms. Molli Mae Williams

  3. sheenabarnett November 25, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    I want to start a Lucy fan club – I Love Lucy! 🙂

  4. tupeloginny November 25, 2008 at 10:42 am #

    Puppy love at first sight, huh?! That’s a good one. I enjoyed reading about Lucy and look forward to hearing more of her adventures. Good job, Laura!

  5. tupelobizbuzz November 25, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    Beagle-rador! Oh, that made me laugh. The crazy names you dog owners come up with. See, in cat world, we just stick with the all-inclusive “stray.”

    Glad you are writing, Laura. Looking forward to more tales.

  6. lauralucysmom November 25, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    Lucy is definitely my better half who allows me to think i am the pack leader… some of the time.

    We prefer to think of dogs as mixed breeds. Stray might imply that Lucy didn’t have a home.
    Thanks for all the nice comments!

  7. meg December 1, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    Lucy is such a neat dog! I know I’m going to enjoy reading more about her.I have a cocker spaniel named Lady lou and she is like my shadow,goes everywhere with me except for church and so far they haven’t let her become a member yet even when I dress her up in clothes and attempt to pass her off as a kid.She acts better than some kids I’ve seen.lol.

Leave a Reply

