Music with a Message, Day 2

15 Nov

I’m here live blogging Music with a Message at the Link Centre in Tupelo. Music continues til 10 p.m. here tonight, so stop by if you can..

9:25 p.m. – The Embrace is up now – another of my favorite local bands. They performed “The Adversary,” and if that could be my song for 2008, I think it would be. I really heart those guys.
Sky Shelton got lots of hoots and hollers from the crowd, despite feeling kinda sickly. He performed a couple of originals (two that he’d written for his wife) and covers of “My Girl” and “Stand By Me.”
Michael Niblett’s band, Redemption Loves Company, is next – and this will probably be my last update for the night! Thanks for reading!

7:53 p.m. – Something Real Simple performed a couple more songs, a few originals plus some covers.
One of my favorite NeMiss bands, Scott Chism & the Better Half, performed, and as usual, I thought they were great. That band can do no wrong.
Nova Roma is up now, and I just heard someone yell, “JESSE, YOU ROCK!” So, apparently Jesse rocks. 🙂
Michael Niblett, who’s putting this festival on, has been auctioning off goodies from Joe Joe’s, Old Venice and the Main Attraction.

6:45 p.m. – Sorry for lack of updates in last two hours –I watched the last two performances, then went for supper during intermission.
pre-intermission, John West closed a great set before Savannah Smith entertained the crowd with covers from Brandi Carlile and Anna Nalick. The Fall performed a few tunes, including a really nice version of “Amazing Grace,” before intermission.
post-intermission, Something Real Simple is on the stage now, kicking off their set with a song by Nickelback.

4:15 p.m. – Today kicked off with more great music. Bragg started the day off with a really terrific acoustic set. It was my first time to hear him, and he was great.
John West is on stage right now…singing my favorite of his, “YFS.” Awesome! 🙂 Savannah Smith follows.
By the way, I just talked to Michael Niblett, the man behind Music with a Message. So far, he has raised $6,000 for Nothing But Nets. That charity gives bed nets to children across Africa to fight malaria. Pretty awesome job so far!

Look for pics and video up by Monday!!!

One Response to “Music with a Message, Day 2”

  1. Tiffany November 21, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    So RLC is just GREAT! Drew can sure play that guitar. Until We Lose Our Faces was really really good plugged up with the drums! I love that song! I really hope we get to see something like this event again sometime real soon.

Leave a Reply

