Top 10 list: Scariest in movies, TV

28 Oct

A spooky old mansion…a crazed killer on the loose…creaky footsteps in the dark…

It’s Halloween time!

Here are my top 10 movie/TV show moments, characters, etc., that scared the bejebus out of me.

Share yours and I’ll make a special readers’ list of scary TV/movies!

10. Warren on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”

All the other demons, vampires and all-around bad guys on “Buffy” had an excuse. Angel lost his soul. Glory was an no-good god. The First was pure evil.
But Warren? Warren was human. He had no excuse.
When we first met Warren (played by Adam Busch) on season 5 of “Buffy,” he was just a nerd who made himself a robot girlfriend. He still felt like nothing more than comic relief in early season 6 when he formed The Trio with Jonathan and Andrew (you know, Tucker’s brother).
Things changed with the episode “Dead Things.” He attempted to rape his ex-girlfriend Katrina with a trance-inducing gadget The Trio made, and accidentally killed her after she tried to escape. His behavior continued to worsen, with bigger, more dangerous heists. In “Seeing Red,” he shot Buffy and Tara – and we all know how that ended.
We thought Warren got what was coming to him when Willow flayed him alive, but we all were shocked to read season 8’s “The Long Way Home, Part Four.” He may be flayed, but he’s not gone…

9. Clowns
I have a strange fear of people in masks or an awful lot of make-up; clowns fall into this category.
Everyone cites “It” as an example of scary clown – and it doesn’t disappoint – but I recently had the pants scared off me by an episode of “Supernatural” called “Everybody Loves a Clown.”
This isn’t the scariest clown scene in that episode, but it’s close. Enjoy.

8. “Dexter”
I love the show. I love the books. I love any and all things “Dexter.”
But my love was tested in season 2 (SPOILERS follow!).
After Sgt. Doakes learned that Dexter is the “Bay Harbor Butcher,” Dexter locked Doakes up out in the middle of nowhere. Dexter finally explained who he is to someone else, and watching him work in front of Doakes was really, really disturbing.
We watch “Dexter” every week, kind of laughing to ourselves that he’s a serial killer who works in the forensics department and has a boat he calls the Slice of Life, and once in a while we see him kill. But those scenes with Doakes in the swamp are terrifying. Michael C. Hall has been masterful in the role of Dexter.

7. “The Shining”
Hello, Danny…
I can’t decide if “The Shining” is hilarious or supremely chilling.
From the little dead girls to the creepy ending, “The Shining” is a horror movie classic.
Here’s the most famous scene from the movie – and it proves, I think, why the movie is both funny and terrifying:

6. TIE: “The Night of the Hunter” and “Gaslight” – Proof that psychological terrors are scarier than gore.
In this 1955 classic “The Night of the Hunter,” Robert Mitchum plays a false preacher who’s after two kids who know where their father hid some stolen money. To get to the kids, he kills their mother – and in this legendary scene, we learn where she ended up.
My mother is fan of this movie, and she’s always said this scene has haunted her for years.

Later in the film, the kids hide out at a woman’s house – and Mitchum stands outside the house, singing his gospel songs loudly, just to make sure they all know he’s there, watching.

In “Gaslight,” the supremely talented and gorgeous Ingrid Bergman is slowly driven insane by her homicidal husband, played by the charming Charles Boyer. Watching Paula (Bergman) slowly being driven insane by someone who says he loves her is especially scary.
“Gaslight” trailer:

5. Mass chaos; see “Cloverfield”
Any situation in which I have no control – think major destruction done by a giant monster (like in “Cloverfield”) or millions dead thanks to a super-catchy disease (think…I don’t know..I stay away from disease movies; they scare me that bad) is super, super frightening.
The critter in “Cloverfield” isn’t what’s scary. It’s the not knowing that’s scary: not knowing what’s really happening, not knowing who’s OK and who’s not, not knowing what to do to save yourself. One of my favorite parts in the movie comes when Rob & Co. ask a soldier what’s attacking the city, and he responds, “I don’t know, but whatever it is, it’s winning.” Terrifying.
“Cloverfield” had its lovers and its haters, but I certainly got sucked in and loved every minute – even if it did scare me.
Trailer:

4. Final scene in “Psycho”
Beware mama’s boys!
The entire movie is scary, but this final scene is incredibly disturbing.
Years after watching the movie, this last scene – and the line about how “she wouldn’t even harm a fly” – is the part that stayed with me. Anthony Perkins as Norman Bates – perfection.
It’s a scene like this that makes me want to stay as far away from the dating scene as possible…

3. “Ghost Hunters” – “There is no Jean here…”
On Sci-Fi Channel’s reality show “Ghost Hunters,” the investigators, Jason, Grant, Steve and Tango, have found all kinds of strange evidence while searching for ghosts.
This one is still the scariest one I’ve ever seen.
The TAPS team went to investigate a baby store. The store’s owners believed Jean, a woman who used to work there, was haunting the store.
When the team investigated the store, they pressed for Jean to communicate with them.
Instead, the team caught a deep, gravelly voice saying, “There is no Jean here.”

Here’s a clip:

2. “The Ring”
I practically napped through “The Grudge,” but all my friends were terrified of that movie. They all thought “The Ring” was boring, but that movie scared the whosits out of me. So it goes, I guess.
“The Ring” has everything that scares me, namely a creepy kid and a creepy TV.
I don’t know why, but “The Ring” really, really, really scares me.
The plot follows a cursed video – after you watch the video, you’ll die in seven days. There’s much more to it than that, but we’ll leave it there.
Here’s that cursed video if you dare take a look:

1. “Halloween”
I watched this movie for the first time last year. I was staying late at a friend’s house and he asked if I’d ever seen “Halloween.” I’d seen bits and pieces (no pun intended) of the many sequels, but no, I had no idea what happened in the first movie.
Boy, did I find out. Michael is so unbelievably creeptastic stalkery. He’s the ultimate guy that never quits.
I can’t say I remember exactly how he killed some of those folks, like the nurse for example – I just remembered how he stalked everybody and how truly creepy it was.
If you’ve given up on good horror movies, take a look back at this classic. It certainly doesn’t disappoint…
Trailer:

Honorable mentions:
Another of my phobias – besides clowns and doctors – is kids in horror movies. Think about it – Samara in “The Ring,” that kid in “The Sixth Sense,” the two kiddos in “The Others.” Kids scare me!
But what scares me above all else is demonic possession. I’ve never seen “The Exorcist” because just the idea scares me too much…

Share your favorites!!!!  I’ll make a big list of reader favorites, so make sure yours gets in!

6 Responses to “Top 10 list: Scariest in movies, TV”

  1. popculturefairy October 28, 2008 at 4:19 pm #

    I don’t think I have time to list all mine…

    Moviewise it takes a lot to scare me because I love horror movies and have become somewhat desensitized. The movie that scares me the most is “Eraserhead” by David Lynch…several scenes in it will stick with ya- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qrl3n2ZtK2E

    Stephen King’s “It” is another one…

    Poltergeist…

    (and I agree about the Ring video!)

  2. JRAY October 29, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    My Top 3 Favorite Scary/Suspense Movies
    1.) Texas Chainsaw Massacre – any of them are good, old-remake. The best one being Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning
    2.) Final Destination: all 3 are great but Final Destination 2 is probably my favorite just because we were on a trip to nashville and on the 4 lane and started saying pileup and turns out we saw a pileup. (weird)
    3.) Resident Evil: all 3 are great. probably the best movie made after a game. The first one is the better of the 3.

    If i had to list my top 15 scary/suspense movies, they would go like this:
    15) Man’s Best Friend (1993)
    14) Valentine (2001)
    13) CandyMan (1992)
    12) See No Evil (2006)
    11) The Rage: Carrie 2 (1999)
    10) House of 1000 Corpses (2003)
    9) Hostel (2005)
    8) The Omen (2006)
    7) The Exorcism of Emily Rose (2005)
    6) The Ring (2002)
    5) I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997)
    4) Joy Ride (2001)
    3) Final Destination 2 (2003)
    2) Resident Evil (2002)
    1) Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning (2006)

  3. sheenabarnett October 29, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    Awesome lists so far!

    Keep ’em comin’!

  4. farley662 October 29, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    1. Halloween
    2. Friday the 13th-the original
    3. Hills Have Eyes-the original
    4. Silver Bullet
    5. Session 9

  5. beagle October 29, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    1. The Stepfather (the opening scene alone is enough to freak you out)
    2. Mikey (this kid is seriously a whack job and creepy)
    3. Hellraiser (Pinhead – nuff said)
    4. Seven (the ending is what does it -OMG)
    5. A Nightmare on Elm Street: Dream Child (the whole pregnant nun, birthing freddy thing is just freaky)
    6. Rosemary’s Baby (you got to admit – getting knocked up by the Devil – pretty freaky)
    7. House on Haunted Hill (the freaky dude that shakes his head really fast just gives me the willies!)
    8. The Exorcist (that girl is just MESSED UP!)
    9. Pet Sematary (burying your kid to have them come back…not a good idea)
    10. Witchboard (any of the series, after watching i always feel like that creepy orb thing is following ME around)

    My phobia is : Anything with teeth, being punched out pulled out ripped out…etc etc! Dr. Giggles or the dude pulling his own tooth out in the Tommy Knockers….UGH!!! *shudders*

    PS – Not scary but my favorite horror series – Evil Dead, Evil Dead 2 and Army of Darkness – the first one is supposed to be horror, the second two are spoofs!

  6. beagle October 29, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Oh and as far as TV – I agree Dexter. Also the BBC series Jekyll was pretty creepy sometimes. Oh and that whole CSI building miniature models of the crime scenes thing was spooky.

Leave a Reply

