Scene Picks – Sugarland, Chilifest, Luke Bryan, Three 6 Mafia

23 Oct

Here are some things happening this weekend…

  • Sugarland makes a return trip to Tupelo tonight! Check out today’s Journal for my story on Ashton Shepherd, who’s opening for them. Kellie Pickler’s opening too, and the Arena is hosting Tim Warren and Nash Street as a free concert before the show.
  • Chili Fest is Friday in Tupelo! Click here to learn more or check out today’s Scene section. John Milstead and Reaching Jane are performing.
  • “Twenty Years After” will be screened tonight at the Link Centre at 6:30. Tickets are $5, which include popcorn and drinks, and the filmmakers will be there for a Q&A.
  • Wanna be in a movie? Then show up at Saltillo City Park at 2 p.m. Saturday to star in Daniel Lee’s “It Came From Beyond Beyond.” Be sure to dress in 50s/60s-appropriate apparel.
  • Both Kelli Karlson and M. Scott Morris thought “W.” was OK. What do you think? It’s playing now across NeMiss.
  • Three 6 Mafia will perform at The Lyric Oxford next Wednesday (29th).

8 Responses to “Scene Picks – Sugarland, Chilifest, Luke Bryan, Three 6 Mafia”

  1. farley662 October 23, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    What are the ticket prices for the Sugarland concert? I actually like them and Ashton Shepherd. I could do with out Pickles.

  2. sheenabarnett October 23, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    They’re $45.50 and $35.50.

    I’ll tell ya this – I covered Sugarland last time they were here and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed their set (even if I couldn’t stay long).
    Also — I have to admit I wasn’t a big fan of Kellie Pickler’s, but I saw her when I took my mom to go see Rascal Flatts. She actually impressed me! Her personality is so cute, and the tunes were decent enough. I think tonight’s show will be FUN!

  3. farley662 October 23, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    I hate her. Not a fan of the dumb blonde type though. Says a ton about her that one of the first things she did after she got a contract was get fake knockers.

    Ashton Shepherd is really good. I have her CD. The title track is one of my favorite songs of the moment.

  4. sheenabarnett October 23, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    I can’t argue with that…

    I’ll tell you this — Ashton Shepherd was one of the sweetest people I’ve ever interviewed, ever. So nice, so go-with-the-flow. I love her song, “I Ain’t Dead Yet.” That is such a good song.

  5. farley662 October 23, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    I saw a thing on her on CMT a few months back. She was talking about how they bought a pig to cook for the holidays and the family all got attached to it. She said her hubby wouldn’t kill it, so she went outside and shot it in the head and then skinned it. That’s my kinda girl right there!

  6. farley662 October 23, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    To be honest, I just don’t like blondes at all. Never have. Give me a dark haired woman any day.

  7. sheenabarnett October 23, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    Now that right there is a great story…wow. She’s definitely a country gal! 🙂

  8. popculturefairy October 25, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    I’m with farley on the dark haired women…

    ALSO, the MOVIE SHOOT @ Saltillo City Park takes place today at 2pm

    http://www.myspace.com/suicidekingfilms
    for more info!

Leave a Reply

