Ask Scene! Answers

17 Oct

Each week I’m opening up the floor for y’all to ask me a question – any question!

Here’s my first batch of answers. Keep sending in questions and I’ll answer them once a week!

What is Paul Thorn up to these days? Does he have any concert dates coming up? — amoryrocks
He’s got a few, but mostly far from here. His closest date is in Laurel at The Reserve this Saturday.
To keep up with Paul – and to hear some of his music, like “Long Way from Tupelo” – visit his MySpace page.

Sheena, what are some concert tours coming up in November that are worth going to? — toddv
Good question! Just this week, the Buckcherry/Avenged Sevenfold/Shinedown/Saving Abel show was announced for the BancorpSouth Arena. That show’s Nov. 25. It should be a good one for rock fans. I’ve always wanted to see Shinedown, so I think that’ll be awesome.
It’s not a tour, really, but it’s worth a mention: Michael Niblett, a man from Saltillo, is putting on a huge two-day music festival for mid-November. He’s kept me updated on who he’s booked, and so far it’s pretty awesome. He’s got a diverse roster, like Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy, Drew Chapman, Justin Posey, So Be iT and Scott Chism & the Better Half. Even better, all proceeds are going to charity.
I just noticed where Joan Red is coming to Good Time Charlie’s on Nov. 8. They’ve got a ton of local fans, so that should be a huge gig.
Country star Luke Bryan is also coming to both Starkville and Oxford in November.
And look back to Scene today for another concert announcement for Tupelo…

 What is a new TV show coming out you think will be interesting?–tupeloalan
For the most part, my DVR is full of my old favorites, like “Supernatural,” “Smallville” and “Dexter.” I tend to lean more toward the supernatural/death-y type stuff.  HBO’s “True Blood” is a new show that’s caught my eye. It’s definitely interesting! I didn’t have the patience for “Fringe,” but it’s hooked lots of viewers.
As far as next year’s new season, I’m looking forward to “Dollhouse.” I’m a huge fan of Joss Whedon, who created the show, so I’m excited to see what he does with it. Keep checking back every day for “TV talk” and some readers may suggest new shows to you there.

More Q&A after the jump!

Who would you rather hang out with, Sarah Palin or Barack Obama? –farley662
For fun? Obama — especially since we’ve got the same kind of stuff on our iPods. 

What 10 albums would you take with you on a deserted island? –popculturefairy
Gosh. Just 10. Let’s go.
“Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness,” The Smashing Pumpkins – One of the many albums that changed my life and let me know it’s OK to be me (cheesy but true)
“Pet Sounds,” The Beach Boys – I cannot live without The Beach Boys. Such an important part of my childhood.
“Abbey Road,” The Beatles – I cannot live without The Beatles.
“Grace,” Jeff Buckley – I cannot live without Jeff Buckley.
“Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge,” My Chemical Romance – It help me through a really difficult time, but at the same time, it’s a very very fun record.
“Picaresque,” The Decemberists – Such a beautiful, unique album. “The Engine Driver” might be my favorite song ever.
“Gold: Hank Williams,” Hank Williams – So it’s a greatest hits collection – get over it. 🙂  My mom didn’t sing me lullabies as a kid – she sang me old Willie Nelson and Hank Williams songs. “There’s a Tear in My Beer” is way better than “Itsy Bitsy Spider” any day!!!
“The Essential Willie Nelson,” Willie Nelson – see above.
“Arular,” M.I.A. – Totally changed the way I hear music.
“Future Sex/Love Sounds,” Justin Timberlake – I’m totally surprising myself with this pick. But I’ve listened to this album probably at least once a week since it came out two years ago. I love how it sounds like a real album. And, hey, it’s dead sexy.

Honorable mentions (hey, I can have ‘em): “9,” Damien Rice; “Nevermind the Bullocks, Here’s the Sex Pistols,” Sex Pistols; “Cease to Begin,” Band of Horses; “Nighttiming,” Coconut Records; “Sing the Sorrow,” AFI; “The Con,” Tegan & Sara; “Night Falls over Kortedala,” Jens Lekman; “Color. Sound. Motion,” Farewell Flight; “Midnight Boom,” The Kills; “Thriller,” Michael Jackson; “I Saw the Devil Last Night and Now the Sun Shines Bright,” Moros Eros; “Siamese Dream,” Smashing Pumpkins..ok I’m stopping.

Got a question? Ask it in comments or e-mail it to sheena.barnett@djournal.com

7 Responses to “Ask Scene! Answers”

  1. farley662 October 17, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    I’m gonna get crucified for this, but I just am not a Beatles fan. In my best Jim Carrey Grinch voice, “I don’t like em. No I don’t!”

  2. popculturefairy October 17, 2008 at 11:01 am #

    Mellon Collie is in my list as well…

    Pumpkins & Violent Femmes are my two favorite bands, mostly because they have such a variety in their music that it never gets old!!!

  3. sheenabarnett October 17, 2008 at 11:23 am #

    No worries, Farley! It’d be awfully boring if we all had the same music taste.
    I’ll tell you who I can’t get into, and I feel really guilty about this — Radiohead and Bruce Springsteen. And, *sometimes* just sometimes, Dylan. But it seems like everybody loves those bands…and I just can’t get into them. Trust me I’ve tried!!

    Ahh, Mellon Collie…such such such an important record for me. I think I listened to it nonstop when I was in high school.

  4. farley662 October 17, 2008 at 11:42 am #

    I LOATHE Dylan! I can’t understand anything the man says! And I don’t like Johnny Cash either. Think he had a terrible voice. Now, I love me some Waylon, Willie, Hank Jr & SR, and absolutely love Merle. That man was a true genius!

  5. popculturefairy October 17, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    farley, I am not a Beatles fan…I like some of the earlier stuff…like “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” or “Eight Days A Week” because it sounds like the 50’s rock I love…The later stuff like “Strawberry Fields Forever” and “I Am The Walrus”…I just couldn’t connect to that stuff.

    They discuss in a cut scene from Pulp Fiction, the question “Are you a Beatles person or an Elvis person?” and how it defines you as a person…I am definately an Elvis person. (and not just because I’m from Tupelo, either.)

    Sheena, I don’t like Dylan either. (I’m full of unpopular opinions like the fact that I *HATE* the writing of Charles Dickens!)

  6. sheenabarnett October 17, 2008 at 10:19 pm #

    Farley — you’re right on about Dylan. I generally have to be able to understand what somebody’s saying to really connect with the song.
    I can’t say I’m a fan of Johnny Cash’s voice, but I LOVE his lyrics. There is some pure genious to somebody who can write, “I shot a man in Reno/Just to watch him die.” Pretty powerful.
    WILLIE AND HANK ALL THE WAY! 🙂

    Fairy — it’s funny you say that about the Beatles and Elvis. I’ve always heard that but I’m one of the weirdos who likes both. I prefer Beatles, but man, Elvis’ voice is unbelievable. As far as Beatles stuff, I generally listen to their later, blues-y stuff more, like “Don’t Let Me Down,” etc. A few earlier works are great, and some of the psychadelic stuff is astounding. But yeah, their blues-y stuff is amazing.

  7. ezradaisy October 24, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    ❤ farewell flight

Leave a Reply

