From Bigbee to Nashville

16 Oct

Country crooner Trip Richmond makes return trip to his home state for special show.

• See ’em live
Who: Trip Richmond, Jason Christopher, Jeff Bates
When: doors open at 8 p.m. Friday
Where: Partner’s Nightclub, Grenada
Cost: $15/advance, $18/door
Info: Partner’s Nightclub

• Extra: Trip Richmond’s performance will be filmed at Partner’s this weekend.

BY SHEENA BARNETT

Trip Richmond is a man on a mission.

Richmond knew he wanted to make a living in country music, and he knew what he had to do to get there. From an early age, he started planning – and he’s starting to see all of his hard work pay off.

“From 12 to 20 I worked on (singing), but I never let anybody hear me,” Richmond said. At about 20 he decided to sing with a local band. But he knew he’d need to move on up in order to make it in music, so he moved from his hometown of Bigbee to Nashville.

“I decided I’d go to Nashville in 2000,” he said. “I’ve been in business my whole life, so I tried to do it from the business side rather than the artist side first.”

Richmond has spent much of his time in Nashville studying the country music industry while also crafting his original music. He said he’s always had an interest in creative writing and poetry, so songwriting felt natural.

“(My songwriting) is personal, and almost always I write on spontaneity,” he said. “I usually write a pretty good mix between ballads and uptempos and mid-tempos.”

No matter his original tunes, his live shows are always full of energy.

“My closest, best friends are telling me to tone it down,” he said with a laugh. “It’s country, but it’s a hard rockin’ country kinda thing.”

Richmond is hard at work on a new CD, which he’ll call “Dying for Love.” He’s playing cuts from the new album on tour now.

“It’s going to be a really good album. I actually co-produced this album, so the exciting thing for me is I was able to get in there and really do it my way without any constrictions.”

Richmond’s been working hard to make it in Nashville, and he’s starting to see the fruits of his labor.

“I’ve been here almost 10 years,” Richmond said, “and things are just now starting to spin good.”

Leave a Reply

