Man with a Message, 10/12

12 Oct

Editor’s Note: Here at Scene Now, we’ve always wanted someone to blog about what it takes to put on a festival in Northeast Mississippi.
Then we met Michael Niblett. About a month and a half ago, he decided to throw a two-day music festival in Tupelo, with all proceeds going to a charity, in mid-November. While most festivals have about a year to prepare, he only has a few months.
At Scene Now, Michael will share his story about trying to do some good in the world in a short amount of time. Read his blog here every Thursday between now and the festival.

BY MICHAEL NIBLETT

So the last month or so has been pretty interesting.

My name is Michael Niblett, and I am from Saltillo. I am the lead singer and guitar player in my band Redemption Loves Company, and I believe that you should love your neighbor as yourself.  Now, granted, that’s tough, and for the most part impossible, but the trying in that direction is what makes my soul go with a fervor toward tomorrow.  I decided a few weeks ago to set up a small concert to try and dent a huge problem, a tragedy of proportions so wide and deep that words can’t really contain it.

Our band makes it a point to put the issue on stage with our music, not only to raise awareness, but to try and move people toward making a difference in the world around them.  This small get-together will be a concert at the Link Centre in Tupelo on West Main St., and I’ve arranged for 20 bands to play inside of two days. The music is strong, diverse and has a common theme of being played by bands consisiting of people who jumped at the idea of using there talents to help others. From a musical perspective, it will be amazing; I say that as a fan and a musician, and from the perspective of making a difference in this problem, the dent will be small but meaningful, especially if people listen between the incredible performances and learn about some of the more tragic things happening in the world, and decide to make any movement toward changing them for the better, no matter how big or small.

This is blog is about the fact that three weeks ago I woke up with this crazy idea to raise $10,000 in two days by having 20 bands play a brand new music festival in the middle of Tupelo, and that today, it is set in stone and will take place in about a month.  To be transparent with you, I probably haven’t slept or eaten enough during the process, but I do have a bed and food, so afterward I will take a nap and get a bite, but lately I’ve been a little busy.  I can’t say enough about the bands and the people who have contributed their time, effort and interest.  Without them we could not do something so significant.  We’re looking at having 2,500 people at this event within the two day period, so I’ll deal with the stage fright problem later.

This weekend I’ve finished the roster of bands, and the next few weeks will consist of making phone calls and arranging meetings trying to get across the importance of what we’re doing, and working to finish pulling this thing off, so be in touch if you’d like to help.

This is sort of an introduction, but the next few weeks, on Thursdays, I’ll just sort of be journaling about the progress of this thing, that if it doesn’t consume me, will be the greatest honor of my relatively short life, to help save people’s lives.

Malaria was wiped out some time ago in this country, but today in Africa more than 3,000 children will still die from it, which works out to more than a million a year, and 85 percent of those children are under the age of 5. Bed nets are needed to keep malaria-carrying insects away.
It costs about $10 to provide a bed net, send someone to set it up and have them explain in the people’s native tongue its use, through the Nothing But Nets organization.  So if we reach our goal of $10,000, that directly correlates to 1,000 children, who tomorrow, will live and not die.  I will, God willing, have children someday, as many of you do now, and I have a truly uneasy feeling when I think about the situation for very long, so I try and direct those feelings toward changing it instead.

For more info on what we’re doing visit, the Redemption Loves Company MySpace page, or e-mail us at: RLCtheband@gmail.com.

I hope to see you all soon,and God bless,

Michael Niblett

3 Responses to “Man with a Message, 10/12”

  1. Lyndie October 13, 2008 at 5:38 pm #

    Michael,

    I think you are taking such a bold step in the right direction! You are an extremely passionate person and I know you have what it takes to move mountains!

    Looking forward to Nov. 14-15

  2. Nikki Wallace October 14, 2008 at 12:54 am #

    I think that it is amazing that young people want to make a difference in the world. This is going to be the most exciting (and important) thing Tupelo has ever seen, where can we get tickets?

  3. Russell Sklander October 14, 2008 at 2:57 am #

    Phenomenal. I think I heard that The Main Attraction downtown and Starbucks on W. Main are going to be selling them. And isn’t Joe Joe’s Espresso in the old Uptown Coffee building now, beside McAllister’s? I think they’re selling them too.

    -R

Leave a Reply

