What’s Going On – TV talk, ‘Twilight,’ Kid Rock

6 Oct

Happy Monday, dears.

TV talk is after the jump – don’t want spoilers just flying around like flying monkeys!

Did you have a good weekend? What did you do?

I took in “Avenue Q” at the Orpheum in Memphis. You have GOT to see “Avenue Q.” I laughed so hard I cried, and I can’t tell you the last time I did that.

Got a question this morning, too.

I’ve seen on some of my other favorite blogs – some pop-culture related, some fashion-related – in which the blogger lets readers ask them questions. Some of it may be as kinda personal as “What’s your favorite (insert something that can be a favorite)” or as random as “Hey, know where I can get a good deal on (whatever the blogger writes about)?” Example: On the fashion blog I read, the blogger was asked everything from how she developed her wardrobe to her favorite SEC teams.

But if this is something y’all are interested in, leave a question in a comment, or e-mail them to sheena.barnett@djournal.com. I’ll answer any questions I get in a separate post.

OK! On to news, then TV talk after the jump!

  • There’s a really good chance “Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles” will be canceled if ratings don’t pick up.
  • Listen up, “Buffy” fans: A DVD of the cast reunion is available at Best Buy. If you buy a $20 season of “Buffy,” “Angel,” “Stargate” or a few other sci-fi shows, you’ll get it for free. Otherwise it’s like $5.
  • Beyonce will tour in 2009 in support of hew new CD, which will be released in November.
  • Toby Keith’s new movie, “Beer for My Horses,” will premiere on CMT on Nov. 2.

TV talk in the jump!

Let’s talk TV!

Seen any good episodes this week?

I loved, loved, loved and adored this past week’s “Supernatural,” in which the angel sent Dean back in time, where he saw his parents and learned quite a bit about his mom’s family (SPOILER: Mary’s parents were hunters! And she didn’t want her own family to go into hunting!!! Eeeep!)

I loved seeing Dean tell his dad to buy the Chevy. I loved seeing Mary and John court a little bit.

I didn’t exactly love Dean’s “Hey, I need to go tell Sam that mom was hot back in the day” line or how they had Mary make out with her demonically-possessed dead dad. Ew. Otherwise, LOVED it!

“Smallville” was pretty awesome too. Tess is definitely growing on me…although I still miss Lex and Lionel whole bunches of bunches.

If you watch “Dexter,” what did you think of last night’s episode? I swear, if I ever have a heart attack, it’ll be because of this show.

SPOILERIFIC: I nearly died when I saw Prado sitting outside Freebo’s house…and then when Prado walked up on Dexter with the knife in his hands! Holy shiz! I wonder how things are going to turn out from here.
And, I’m kinda surprised Rita’s keeping the baby. I knew she wanted it, but I was worried she’d abort it because Dexter acted so weird about it.

Oh! “Kath & Kim” premieres on NBC this week, and while I was excited to see it, I keep reading bad reviews. I’m a little scared to watch it now. Are you going to watch?

So…what shows have you been watching?

Share your thoughts!!

6 Responses to “What’s Going On – TV talk, ‘Twilight,’ Kid Rock”

  1. farley662 October 6, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Went to the OM game. Then watched football all day long Saturday. Had friends come over to see Aedan for the first time. Yesterday I watched the 2nd season of 30 Rock on DVD. It streets on Tuesday with Simpsons S11 and the 3rd season of Robot Chicken.

  2. sheenabarnett October 6, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    I totally need to get into “30 Rock.”

  3. farley662 October 6, 2008 at 4:36 pm #

    Your profile pic makes ya kinda look like Tina Fey. I own both seasons. Perks of the job. Free DVD’s and such.

  4. sheenabarnett October 7, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    Yeah, I wish. 🙂 Perks of the job? Hey, I’m the entertainment writer, and even *I* don’t get good perks like that!! 🙂

  5. farley662 October 7, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    I’m a pretty big deal. I have several leather bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.

  6. sheenabarnett October 7, 2008 at 11:22 am #

    omg. You win best comment of the day, hands down. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

