TV talk

29 Sep

OK, let’s play catch-up about what shows we’re into, what we thought about the past week’s episodes, etc.

Chat about any shows you’re watching and find fellow fans.

Just please mark spoilers appropriately.:)

First off, let’s talk cable channel shows.

My friend Laura and I have made a pact: If she ordered HBO we’d start watching “True Blood,” and if I got Showtime we’d watch “Dexter.” It’s on!

We spent one night last week watching the first three episodes of “True Blood.”

While the first episode was less than thrilling (for me), I really liked the second and third ones.

I have to agree with just about every other review I’ve read – those accents, and to an extent the dialogue, are terrible. Seems like they go in and out, and that’s distracting, but I’m hoping they get better.

I’ve never read any of Charlaine Harris‘ books, on which “True Blood” is based. But I was surprised to realize how much of the vampire mythology and many of the overall themes match Stephenie Meyer‘s young adult “Twilight” series. (interesting tidbit I just learned: Harris is from Tunica)

Either way, I think the idea of having vampires “out” in the world is pretty interesting, so we’ll see where it goes from here.

What do you think about “True Blood”?

The season premiere of “Dexter” was last night.

The thing I love about “Dexter” is how it starts off with a bang and keeps that fast pace throughout the entire season. This one looks like it’ll be just as exciting as the last. I like the addition of Jimmy Smits, too.
Gosh! And I know this has nothing to do with anything but I LOVE Deb’s hair cut!

SPOILER – What do you think about Rita’s pregnancy? In the “Dexter” books (which I highly recommend if you love the show), the two are engaged, but there’s no pregnancy. I like this idea, of either engagement or pregnancy..it’ll be interesting to see if/how it pans out.

As for every other show I’ve watched lately…

I’ve already kinda discussed “Ghost Hunters” this week, but I had a lot of fun with this week’s episode. I hope the team goes back there to investigate soon. Seemed like an awfully big place for just Steve, Tango, Kris, Jason and Grant to investigate.

“Supernatural” was great again this week. SPOILER — So, the apocalypse, eh? I guess I’ve seen so many on shows like “Buffy” and “Angel” that I’m kind of like, “Yeah, big deal.” But what do you think about it? I am sooo loving this angel guy! His speech to Dean about giving him respect gave me the chills.

Still haven’t watched the “Smallville” premiere, much less this past week’s ep. I know, I know – I’ll get on ’em soon.

And I’ve only watched about half of last week’s “Fringe,” but this past ep was a lot more interesting than the last.

Talk about what shows you watch!!

7 Responses to “TV talk”

  1. Johnathon September 29, 2008 at 9:32 am #

    After I got home from church last night, I watched the new episodes of Family Guy, American Dad, & Brothers & Sisters. I don’t know what is was about Family Guy, but I didn’t find it that funny, maybe the first part when Peter & Lois were having a Halloween Party. I thought that was hilarious. On the other hand, American Dad was so good. (I would go into more detail, but I don’t want to ruin it for everyone) My favorite for tonight though, was Brothers & Sisters. If you haven’t seen it, it’s a great show. Sally Field is AWESOME in it.

  2. sheenabarnett September 29, 2008 at 9:48 am #

    Strangely enough I was more excited about the new episode of “The Simpsons” than I was “Family Guy.” But I really didn’t care for the new “Simpsons” ep.

    I was just talking about “Brothers & Sisters” with somebody the other day. I keep hearing such good things about that show. Dude, there should be a national I Heart Sally Field day.

    Spoil all you want, Jonathon! Just put “Spoilers” somewhere in your post so folks will know to watch out. 🙂

  3. farley662 September 29, 2008 at 12:09 pm #

    King of the Hill for me. And I’ve found a new passion. Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmerman. That guy will eat ANYTHING!

  4. sheenabarnett September 29, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    lol, “Bizarre Foods” is definitely entertaining! There’s no way I could eat anything he offers up…ugh. lol.

  5. Johnathon September 29, 2008 at 1:50 pm #

    Yeah, you really need to check out Brothers & Sisters. I got my mother and my sisters watching it and they absolutely love it.

    I totally agree with you on the GH ep last week. That place is massive. There’s no telling what kind of “ghost” are in that building.

  6. popculturefairy September 30, 2008 at 9:57 am #

    HEROES SPOILERS:

    Heroes is definitely heating up…with Silar being Angela Petrelli’s son…and turning good (sort of…for now)

    I can’t wait to see what happens next, either way…

  7. popculturefairy September 30, 2008 at 9:57 am #

    Oh and I just finished episode 12 of Lost…I’m glued to that…

Leave a Reply

