MusicScene: Noush Skaugen

29 Sep

Singer-songwriter Noush Skaugen makes Starkville debut

• See ’em live
Who: Noush Skaugen, Come On Go With Us
When: 8 p.m. Wednesday
Where: Rick’s Cafe, Starkville
Cost: $5
Info: rickscafe.net or (662) 323-7425

BY SHEENA BARNETT
Scene Now

STARKVILLE – Noush Skaugen’s life is all about journeys.
The British singer-songwriter has toured and traveled all over the world and has had her share of emotional treks.
Her latest journey is all about making it in music.
She’s released her latest album, “Lost and Found,” featuring her blend of alternative rock and pop, and she’s on tour across the nation supporting the CD.
Just this tour has been a ride in itself.
“It’s been crazy, I’ll tell you that,” Skaugen said in a phone interview with Scene, “but it’s been fun.”
She keeps busy on the road writing new songs, doing interviews and preparing for her live gigs.
“It’s very energetic,” she said about her live show with the band. “I think a live show needs to be something (the audience) wants to see, something that’s kinda energetic and takes them away somewhere else.”


Skaugen’s music is extremely personal.
Skaugen lost her mother to breast cancer a few years ago, and she donates a portion of her CD sales to breast cancer research. “Lost and Found” deals with the time in her life after her mom’s death.
“I was kind of at that stage in my life where I lost myself. I went through relationship, and it was a break-up, and I sort of lost and found myself. And the record, really, is the story of me trying to find myself again from the point of being lost,” she said.
She relives those personal experiences through her music every night on stage.
“It’s almost like putting myself back in that place every single time, and it never gets tiring. It never gets boring,” she said. “It’s kinda theraputic.”
That’s what makes her live show so effective, she said.
“I love to meet everybody who feels something through my music. The live show just takes it to a whole other level,” Skaugen said.
And it’s through her live show that she can take listeners on a journey of their own, and she hopes her music can help anyone else who’s feeling as lost as she once did.
“I think everyone’s really lost in life,” Skaugen said. “But there is no destination. It’s all about the journey.”

Extras:

  • Listen to a live interview with Noush Skaugen on WMSV 91.1 FM at 4 p.m. on Wednesday.
  • Hey, Noush Skaugen, what’s on your iPod?
    “I’ve been listening to Kings of Leon. They’re on my iPod…They’re doing really, really cool stuff. Cold War Kids, I love their stuff, too; very indie rock. Their music is just so different. They play piano and it’s all over the place, it’s not organized…I think when magic is captured on tape, that’s the magic of music, where there’s no gimmick. It’s just real music.”

Here’s a video for Noush Skaugen’s single “Adeline” –

2 Responses to “MusicScene: Noush Skaugen”

  1. tupelobizbuzz September 29, 2008 at 4:49 pm #

    Sheena – how do you pronounce the singer’s name?

  2. sheenabarnett September 30, 2008 at 9:17 am #

    Pretty well the way you’d expect — Noush is like “noosh.” I believe her last name is like “skaou-gin.” Again, kinda like it’s spelled. When she called me, she was like “Hello, this is Noush Skaugen,” and it just rolled off beautifully.

    BTW, Carlie, check out her music – I think you’d like it.

Leave a Reply

