What’s Going On – TV talk, Weezer, White/Keys Bond theme

23 Sep

Happy Tuesday, dears!

So the “Heroes” premiere was last night…feel free to discuss in comments! Or any other show you watched. πŸ™‚

News!

  • Rolling Stone has a Q&A with Jenny Lewis, who’ll open for Conor Oberst tomorrow at The Lyric Oxford.
  • Take a listen to the Jack White/Alicia Keys Bond theme, “Another Way to Die,” here. Love it? Hate it? Discuss in comments, if ye feel so inclined.
  • What do you get when you cross Chris Cornell and a Hinder/Puddle of Mudd collaborator? The new David Cook single.
  • Randy Travis will release a holiday DVD this fall. It’s the perfect gift for the Randy Travis fan in your life.

24 Responses to “What’s Going On – TV talk, Weezer, White/Keys Bond theme”

  1. popculturefairy September 23, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    are you going to the jenny lewis show?! me and my bestest friend are riding together to it…i love her!

  2. sheenabarnett September 23, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    i think so, if i can work out my insane schedule. i’m taking thursday off so i’m trying to cram the rest of the week into today and wednesday…let’s see if i can pull that off. πŸ™‚

  3. popculturefairy September 23, 2008 at 3:46 pm #

    well come up and say hi if you go!!!! (and if you recognize me…)

  4. sheenabarnett September 23, 2008 at 3:51 pm #

    ditto! πŸ™‚

  5. popculturefairy September 23, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

  6. popculturefairy September 23, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    well…if that had worked it would have been this:

  7. farley662 September 23, 2008 at 6:25 pm #

    Just started watching the first season of Chuck. I like it so far. It’s different, in a good way.

  8. Mickey Gousset September 23, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    So I skipped the Heroes preshow, and watched the two-hour premier. Overall, I think they recaptured the feel of Season 1, with the franticness and the “man I wish it would go on for another 10 minutes”. Season 2 was rather a bust for me. So far, I’m hooked for Season 3.

  9. farley662 September 23, 2008 at 11:19 pm #

    I’m probably the only dork here who would consider this, but Metropolis, IL has a superman festival every year. It’s about a 4 1/2 hour drive from Oxford. Last year they had Alison Mack from Smallville. Now how do I convince the wife to go?

  10. Ziplock September 24, 2008 at 1:07 am #

    I watched the premier of Heroes and really enjoyed it. I am really anticipating CSI:Los Vegas. CSI:Miami made me happy too! I like the idea of posting our likes and dislikes about the new tv season.

  11. sheenabarnett September 24, 2008 at 8:49 am #

    Hey Ziplock! Thanks for joining in! πŸ™‚

    Farley! WOW, that festival sounds amazing. My mom LOVES “Smallville,” and Alison Mack’s character is her favorite. Wish I’d known, I’d have taken her last year.
    Anyways — how to convince your wife…hmm..maybe get her to watch a mini “Smallville”/”Superman” marathon and say, “Hey, you liked that? What about a WHOLE WEEKEND of Superman?” lol..or at least tell her it’ll be a really cool, really unique opportunity. Meet lots of cool people. Win lots of cool door prizes, maybe. See lots of Superman-wannabees (which are probably cooler than Elvis tribute artists).I don’t know. I’m not great at convincing people to go to things with me so I’m usually stuck going by myself. πŸ™‚

  12. popculturefairy September 24, 2008 at 9:09 am #

    Yeah Heroes Season 2 was lacking something…I can’t even put my finger on what…(besides the writer’s strike causing it to be put on hold for an awful eternity!

  13. farley662 September 24, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    I had to make a decision on whether to record Chuck or Heroes. Went with Chuck. Heroes didn’t impress the other night.

  14. farley662 September 24, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    And I know we covered this a week or two ago, but I got to thinking about the Rock the Debate thing again. If they wanted homegrown Mississippi talent, why not get Faith Hill, 3 Doors Down, or Leann Rimes to headline? Seems like a wasted opportunity to me.

  15. sheenabarnett September 24, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    I feel so weird cause I’m not really a fan of either. I love superheroes, but “Heroes” never interested me that much; and I feel like “Chuck” should be my thing. Then again I tried watching those in the days before DVR…

    Good point about the Rock the Debate thing, as far as MS talent. But I wonder, too, if they wanted to focus on the debate and therefore didn’t get big, famous name to headline, like that would take away from the debate. I don’t know if they were thinking that, but it’s an idea.

  16. farley662 September 24, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    That makes sense. You coming over for the debate?

    I’m a DC comics guy. LOATHE Marvel. My bathroom in our house is a Superman bathroom. It rocks.

  17. sheenabarnett September 24, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    My debate plans are still TBD.

    I know for sure my mom and I are going to hear Tom Brokaw speak Thursday night about the debate, etc. She LOVES good ole Tom so she’s dying to hear what he has to say.

    As for the debate itself, I’d love to go watch it in the Grove or at the Square, but I don’t know for sure if we’re going to try that or not!

    What are your plans?

    ah!!!!! lol Why do you hate Marvel? I’m just starting to re-discover comics, so I’m open to them all. I didn’t think I’d like manga, but I’m even getting into that a little.
    Wow! A Superman bathroom. Like I said, my mom is really the Superman nut. For her birthday last year I bought her a Superman cake (with a light-up Superman toy breaking through the cake…pretty cool) and played the “Smallville” soundtrack. When she walked into see the room, I played that “Somebody saaaaaave me” part of the theme. πŸ™‚

  18. farley662 September 24, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    One word, Spiderman! I hate the boy blunder. I’d love to see Lex squash that little bug.

    I had a Superman cupcake cake. Went to Casa Mexicana and shared the cake with the staff. I have a picture Of Aedan in his Superman costume I photoshopped in front of the Daily Planet. It rocks.

  19. sheenabarnett September 24, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    How adorable! That’s got to be the CUTEST photo in the world!

    How is he doing?

  20. farley662 September 24, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    Doing good. He will have his full repair between Thanksgiving and Xmas. He gets bigger and stronger each day.

  21. popculturefairy September 24, 2008 at 12:01 pm #

    When Dr. Daniel and I went to New York, we took a pic of him in front of the big globe thing in the actual building that was used for the Daily Planet…He LOVES Superman…I’m a Christopher Reeves gal…haven’t seen any other Superman I care for…

  22. sheenabarnett September 24, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    Glad to hear the good news, Farley! πŸ™‚

    Wow, Fairy, that’s got to be an awesome pic!
    If I’m anything, I’m a Lex kinda gal – esp. Michael Rosenbaum (sp?). I really loved him on “Smallville.” Loved John Glover as Lionel, too. I’m gonna miss them.
    Of course, though, I’ve always had a thing for the bad guys…probably why I love “Dexter” so much. πŸ™‚

  23. popculturefairy September 24, 2008 at 1:28 pm #

    Michael Rosenbaum was at Dragon Con too! Girl, we dragging you there next year! lol…

  24. sheenabarnett September 24, 2008 at 1:59 pm #

    and I’m TOTALLY OK with that!! lol

    Actually since I started here, I’ve wanted to cover a sci-fi convention — by either following folks from here who go for fun, or maybe someone from here who does like panels or something. So yeah…that would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

