What’s Going On – Fall TV and music, Emmys

22 Sep

Happy first day of fall!

Speaking of fall, let’s talk fall TV.

I’d love for Scene Now to be a place where we can discuss your favorite TV shows and chat with other fans.

If it’s cool with y’all, I’ll leave a reminder in every “What’s Going On” post that you can discuss any of your favorite shows in comments.

My only rule: if you’ve got spoilers, please warn appropriately!

For this first post, please share what shows you’re keeping up with, so we can all find other fans.

What am I watching?
“Supernatural”
“Ghost Hunters”
“Smallville”
“Fringe”

And I’ll probably keep up here and there with “Family Guy” and “The Simpsons.” And, if I can get Showtime soon, I’ll be keeping up with “Dexter.”

I had to work late last Thursday so I missed “Smallville,” but, WOW, “Supernatural”‘s season premiere was awesome!!  I am SO happy this show is taking this direction…so few other paranormal-ish shows ever go this way. Discuss in comments if ye like!

On to news!

  • Want lots of Emmy coverage? Check out Entertainment Weekly’s special coverage.
  • You know you want to know more about albums coming out this fall. Rolling Stone has a fall music preview.

Remember! Talk about your favorite shows and what you’re watching in comments!

12 Responses to “What’s Going On – Fall TV and music, Emmys”

  1. Johnathon September 22, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    I LOVE some Ghost Hunters. Every Wednesday I start watching at 6 p.m. and top at 9 p.m. I just wish that they would do more investigating here in the South. Do you know where they are going to do their special live episode for Halloween? I believe last year, it was that old mental hospital in Kentucky.

  2. sheenabarnett September 22, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    AWESOME!!! So glad to meet another GH fan!

    I usually try to watch from 6-9 but sometimes I can only catch the new episode.

    I haven’t heard anything about the Halloween special. Last year’s was great at the hospital – they also picked the new investigator last year, too.

    We’ll keep each other updated!

  3. farley662 September 22, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    Smallville, Fringe, Bones, House, Kitchen Nightmares, Prison Break, My Name is Earl, 30 Rock, Samantha Who?, The Office, and King of the Hill. The Tivo is busy at my house!

  4. sheenabarnett September 22, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    awesome! Another Smallville fan!

  5. Mickey Gousset September 22, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    I haven’t given up on Fringe yet. Though I wasn’t impressed with the latest episode.

  6. popculturefairy September 23, 2008 at 9:16 am #

    Heroes! I JUST got into Lost because they started it from the beginning on Sci-Fi last week…the only other thing I watch religiously is Dr. Who.

    I used to watch Ghosthunters a lot, but I’ve been slacking on that lately. I started watching because I used to do some amateur ghosthunting with a local group…

  7. beagle September 23, 2008 at 10:34 am #

    Our normal listing is – Smallville, One Tree Hill, Supernatural, Heros, Life, CSI – We like Miami and Las Vegas, and a couple of other random shows. Our DVR is always busy and we normally try to watch things on the weekends (when we have time).

    I was and still am the most excited about Supernatural – If I only had to pick one show to watch that would be it. I loved the premier and I totally called what I thought the “entity” would be – that’s all I can say with out spoiling. I loved this new twist and can’t wait to see where it goes!

  8. beagle September 23, 2008 at 10:35 am #

    Oh yeah and Dr. Who – anytime it is on I have to watch…hopefully I can get all the seasons and watch in order sometime. 🙂

  9. sheenabarnett September 23, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    I agree w/ you, Beagle – “Supernatural” has me all excited for this season.

    I’m kinda in a weird place though – I just bought season one and finished it, and I just started season 2 this week (EEK!! CREEPY CLOWNS!!!). So I’m watching seasons 2 and 4 at the same time. 🙂

    SPOILERS: I totally didn’t see the whole God/angel thing coming, not at all! But I LOVE it! I don’t know of any other paranormal-ish show that’s went in that direction. They’ve kinda come close, but never just dove on in. LOVE it!!

  10. popculturefairy September 23, 2008 at 3:47 pm #

    beagle, come watch dr. who with me and my sister…i have all 4 seasons on tivo! lol

  11. beagle September 24, 2008 at 10:12 am #

    LOL! Thanks fairy! 🙂

    Sheena – I agree I don’t think I have seen a show go that direction. I really like the way they did the Angel too…not your normal all white with huge wings – it’s nice to see a different view…going to make me think twice the next time I hear static on the TV or radio though! 😛

  12. sheenabarnett September 24, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    Yeah, I agree w/ you about the angel. But it was a little scary that he blew the psychic’s eyes out! That was amazing…and creepy. And yeah…next time I hear ringing in my ears I’m going to be like, “Guardian angel?” lol

Leave a Reply

