What’s Going On – Wallace, new vinyl and CDs, Facebook

15 Sep

Happy Monday, dears!

What did you do this weekend?

As I said last week, my weekend was full with a toddler’s birthday, and those two parties kept me busy! We had a blast, though.

I think the big event of the weekend was the new Facebook design. I’ve been on Facebook since my last year of college, and I’ve always been basically OK with whatever changes the Facebook Powers That Be made. But this one? Eh, I can’t say I’m crazy about this new design. I guess I’ll give it some time, see if it gets any better. What do you think about it, fellow Facebookers?

On to news…

  • WA-HOO!! Capitol/EMI are releasing some limited edition vinyl from their vaults. Albums include the Beach Boys’ “Pet Sounds,” as well as some R.E.M. and Radiohead albums. Wheee!!!
  • Taylor Swift’s new album, “Fearless,” drops in November.
  • If you realllllly love Reba McEntire, you’ll love a  three-CD box set of her greatest hits. It’ll be out in October.
  • The Who’s covers album has been delayed.

7 Responses to “What’s Going On – Wallace, new vinyl and CDs, Facebook”

  1. Brad J September 16, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    Sheena,

    Procede with caution on the new Capitol vinyl re-issues. There is a lot of talk these are digital sourced. Your best bet is generally to seek out original country of origin pressings. It’s nice to have a minty-fresh LP still in the wrap, but if it is inferior to an original at pretty much the same price or more, I choose the original. Just my .02 cents.

  2. sheenabarnett September 16, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    DIGITAL?? NOOO!!

    I only got that b/c I’ve had so much trouble finding “Pet Sounds” on vinyl. And I figured, I’d rather get it as a reissue than never have it at all.

    Also, I’m terrified to buy vinyl online, generally, especially for used records. Do you know of any sites that are especially great/reliable for buying vinyl online?

  3. farley662 September 16, 2008 at 1:02 pm #

    I got a question. Do you know why the Rock the Debate show at Ole Miss is mostly just local bands? They kept saying they were getting a big name national act, and the biggest name is the NM Allstars. I mean, they are great and all, but come on? Big name?

  4. sheenabarnett September 16, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Good question…no one’s told me much about it, besides the Kudzu Kings when I interviewed them.

    Technically, several of the bands are probably pretty big-name. NMAllstars are very well known. Saving Abel is on a major label now, and they’ve been doing some serious, heavy touring. Josh Kelley…well…I don’t know if he’s on a major label anymore or not but I know he’s married to Katherine Heigel, which makes him kinda awesome. Paul Thorn’s name is getting bigger and bigger. And the Kudzu Kings never needed a major label deal to be a big name.

    And the Mayhem String Band may not have a major label attached to them, but they’re great.

    Either way, it’s a pretty good line-up of Mississippi musicians, showing off the talent that’s here. I’m sure that was their agenda, was to get as many great MS musicians as possible.

    Here’s the Web site for Rock the Debate:
    http://www.olemiss.edu/debate/rock/index.html

  5. farley662 September 16, 2008 at 1:38 pm #

    The way it was being talked about over here, you would have expected Dixie Chicks, Springsteen, Cheryl Crow, etc. I was just kinda let down when I heard the lineup. They were talking about it being one of the biggest concerts ever in Oxford and it’s like the Rumble in the Grove concerts.

    Along the same lines, Big Spring Jam in Huntsville is not as impressive this year as it was in years past.

    I also noticed on Third Days website a few weeks back they were playing the BCS Arena. Now it’s been removed. Any idea why?

  6. sheenabarnett September 16, 2008 at 1:54 pm #

    Arg, unfortunately I never hear that much gossip from either Oxford or Starkville. I wish I could spend so much time in either so I could catch up. But really — THAT big of a show? Geez.

    hmm…I know nothing about the Third Day show. That’s definitely a question for Todd. I’ll mention it to him.

  7. Todd September 16, 2008 at 10:08 pm #

    Third Day would be great, but I don’t know of any upcoming dates in the Arena. Let me see what I can find out.

Leave a Reply

