In the Arena, 9/12

11 Sep

BY TODD HUNT

Sorry for my absence last week.  I was hanging out with everyone’s favorite mouse in central Florida.  It was hard to find the time to blog while standing in line for Space Mountain.  Mickey did ask me to pass along his regards to all of you, though.

Let’s talk about my favorite Canadian bands of all time.  Why?  Because it’s my blog!  Unfortunately, I don’t think the list will be very long (sorry, Richard).

RUSH – I bet you didn’t see this one coming.  Neil Peart is arguably the best drummer ever.  I gave up trying to play like him years ago.  Even if I had practiced for ten hours every day since I started playing drums in 1983, I still wouldn’t be able to match his skill level.  I opted for the bombast of John Bonham instead.  Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson round out this amazingly talented power trio from north of the border.  While my interest in the band waned from 1988 on, their material in the seventies and early eighties was unparalleled.

NEIL YOUNG – I know, he’s not a band.  He’s still an amazing guitar player and songwriter.  I don’t always agree with his political views, but he’s certainly not afraid to speak his mind.  From his early days with Buffalo Springfield, through the CSNY period, and the years with Crazy Horse, he has released some powerful songs.  If you don’t own “Decade”, you owe it to yourself to pick it up.

BOB & DOUG MCKENZIE – Who could forget their Canadian version of “The Twelve Days of Christmas”?   I think I still have the 45 of “Take Off” somewhere.  Of course they had a little help from Geddy on that one.

Unfortunately, that’s it for my list of Canadian bands.  Triumph and Bryan Adams are the only other acts that even come to mind when thinking about Canada.  I’m probably leaving out some good Canadian acts, but my mind is blank    And to think that my brother-in-law is from Canada!  I’ll probably catch some grief for this one.

Any suggestions from you guys?  Who are your favorite Canadian acts?

Until next time,

Todd

3 Responses to “In the Arena, 9/12”

  1. Scratch September 13, 2008 at 6:52 pm #

    Hehe…Bob and Doug. Good times. All I can think about is finding “fleshy-headed” mutants in the forbidden zone. Strange Brew, indeed.

    As far as Canadian bands…Rush and Triumph immediately spring to mind.
    Still, you should Google Edmonton Block Heater…not too shabby.

  2. sheenabarnett September 14, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    Can’t say Canada has given me just an overwhelming amount of favorites…sorry Canada!

    I mean, I like a little bit of a lot of Canadian artists.

    Barenaked Ladies? There are a few tunes of theirs I can dig.
    I like only one or two by Feist.
    Alanis Morisette is OK, too.
    I mostly like how Michael Buble looks.
    I’m thankful Nelly Furtado finally met Timbaland.

    If I had to choose, I like k.d. lang and Neil Young the most out of any of them. Those two are definitely my favorites.

  3. GeddyLee September 17, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    Thanks for showing Rush some love, Todd.

    Other top Canadian bands (in addition to those already mentioned) include:

    The Band
    The Guess Who
    Bachman-Turner Overdrive
    Loverboy
    The Tragically Hip
    Max Webster
    April Wine
    The Jeff Healy Band

Leave a Reply

