What’s Going On – ‘Ghostbusters,’ Kanye, U2

8 Sep

Hope y’all had a good weekend!

Mine was relatively quiet.

Yeah, I took Thursday off, and yeah, I technically wasn’t at work, but it still wasn’t really a day off, either. Long story.

Friday I went shopping for my bff’s daughter’s third birthday. And while cruising for kiddie books, I also picked up “Watchmen,” as several Scene Now readers suggested. I think I’m only around Chapter 4 or so but I loooooove it so far. I read the back of the book, and with praise like “peerless,” “groundbreaking,” “a masterwork” and “the greatest piece of popular fiction ever produced,” I thought, geez, this book has quite a bit to live up to…but it does. Thanks for the suggestion!

Besides that, my mom and I caught one of our favorite movies, “The Night of the Hunter,” on TCM this weekend. Robert Mitchum stars as a crazy “preacher” who marries a young widow to get to her two children, who know where their father hid a bunch of stolen money. The way Mitchum chases after those kids…terrifying. Lillian Gish also stars. If you like classic movies, thrillers or Robert Michum (and, come on, who doesn’t love Robert Mitchum????), you’ll love “The Night of the Hunter.”

Here’s the trailer:

I also, for better or worse, watched the MTV VMAs. Lame, I know, but I grew up watching the VMAs, so I feel kinda weird if I don’t watch them. Even if it’s just to make fun of half the people on there, it’s still kinda fun to watch. I’m happy to see a healthy Britney and a kick-butt Pink. Makes my day.

And, was it just me, or did it look like they just found some random abandoned warehouse somewhere and threw up some lights and had like five people show up? That had to have been the smallest venue ever. And yeah, I know Taylor Swift said it was some studio where lots of nice movies were filmed, but it just seemed…weird. And small.

Anyways, enough of my rambling…here’s some news.

  • My Chemical Romance bassist Mikey Way will write a story for DC Comics.

Leave a Reply

