What’s Going On – Rock Band 2, AC/DC, SNL

28 Aug

Happy Thursday, dears!

A personal victory for this morning:

My grandma is the best cook. I know, you say yours is, too, but seriously, mine’s the best. Since she’s slowly lost her eyesight over the last few years, she’s slowly stopped cooking, too. But I’ve been craving some of her banana pudding, so earlier this week I asked her how to make it. It’s simple but I thought I’d somehow botch it up…but no! It’s perfection! Yay! 🙂 I never thought I’d be anywhere awesome enough to make her especially yummy nanner puddin’, but sure enough, mine’s pretty tasty, too. Yummm…

Anyways. On to newsy bits!

  • TheWB.com is up and running, so you can watch your favorite shows, like “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “Angel” and “Firefly” (wait, those are MY favorite shows).
  • Billy Currington’s new album comes out in October.
  • Michael Phelps will host the season premiere of “SNL.”

9 Responses to “What’s Going On – Rock Band 2, AC/DC, SNL”

  1. Mickey Gousset August 28, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    Firefly rocks!

  2. sheenabarnett August 28, 2008 at 3:16 pm #

    Sure does! Happy to find another Browncoat!

  3. Mickey Gousset August 29, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    I’m been a fan since it was first on TV and then cancelled. I’ve probably worn out my DVDs.

  4. sheenabarnett August 29, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    If you’re a “Firefly”/”Serenity” fan you should go to a Can’t Stop the Serenity event.

    It’s a world-wide charity screening of “Serenity.” All the proceeds go to Equality Now, which is the favorite charity of the show’s creator, Joss Whedon. They usually take place sometime in the summer, since Whedon’s birthday is in June.

    The Mid-South Browncoats had its first Can’t Stop the Serenity in Memphis this past June and I went. I had a BLAST. It was so much fun to see the movie on the big screen and get all kinds of goodies, like a survival kit and door prizes.

    Here’s the Mid-South Browncoats Web site:
    http://mid-southbrowncoats.blogspot.com/

    You might already know about all that…heck you might have already gone to a CSTS event. But I love spreading the good word…can’t stop the signal. 🙂

  5. farley662 August 29, 2008 at 4:12 pm #

    What’s the recipe for the puddin home skillet?

  6. sheenabarnett August 29, 2008 at 11:20 pm #

    It’s nothing fancy — it’s my 85-year-old grandma’s recipe. Obviously it varies from family to family but this is how we do it:

    In a sauce pan, boil 2 cups of milk, half a stick of butter and less than half a cup of sugar (vague I know but I’m still trying to get that right…a whole cup was WAY too sweet), and throw in a pinch of flour, just to thicken it. As that’s boiling, layer banana slices (you’ll use about 3-4 bananas) and vanilla wafers (we ONLY use Jackson’s, and we use almost the whole bag) in a large bowl.
    The very second you see the milk, etc. boiling, turn it off and pour the mixture over your wafers and bananas. And you’re DONE!
    Beware overcooking the milk mixture.

    And that’s basically it. We don’t believe in banana pudding that actually uses like Jell-o pudding…that’s like, I don’t know, against all of God’s laws in my grandma’s eyes. 🙂 It’s a way simple simple, but hey, my grandma made do with what she had. 🙂

  7. farley662 August 29, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    Nothing finer than nanner puddin! My favorite food on Earth.

    You making it over here for the game tomorrow? Tons of folks in O-Town for the Nuttification of OM football.

  8. Mickey Gousset August 30, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    I’m going to try and make it next time it is in Memphis!

  9. sheenabarnett August 31, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    YAY Mickey! Trust me — you’ll love it!

    I have to agree with you, Farley — there’s almost nothing in the world as good as nanner puddin. 🙂

    Nah, didn’t make it to the game…I’ve never been good at actually making it out to the game. Honestly I think it was the whole idea of dressing up and tailgating and all that that kinda turned me off of it….can’t I just watch a football game? 🙂

Leave a Reply

