What’s Going On – Vinyl, Brian Wilson, fall TV

27 Aug

Happy Wednesday, dears!

Yesterday’s trip to Oxford was very successful.

Between interviews I stopped in at Purple Haze, a vintage shop a little ways off the Square. You never know what goodies you’ll find in there, so I love stopping in.

And here’s the scoop: they’re now selling vinyl! They’ve got a small, but awesome, collection of new and used vinyl. I picked up goodies like Duran Duran’s “Rio” and “The Beach Boys Today!” as well as the Black and Whites‘ album. Speaking of local music, they’ve got a good selection of Oxford musicians’ CDs. I finally got a copy of Mayhem String Band‘s debut CD, too.

Later I sat down with Newt of The Cooters about what all the band’s been up to, including the upcoming Oxford Music Festival. He gave me a copy of the band’s new EP, “Take a Stand,” which sounds awesome this morning.

Look for details about the Oxford Music Festival in the Sept. 4 issue of Scene.

Now, onto news…

  • I can has “Smallville,” “The Office” and “Dexter” (and other fall TV show) scoopage?
  • Snow Patrol’s new album comes out in October.

One Response to “What’s Going On – Vinyl, Brian Wilson, fall TV”

  1. Alex August 29, 2008 at 12:19 am #

    Right now all the Peter Gabriel-era Genesis stuff is out of print, so I’m happy to see the box set. I hope they re-release the individual albums, too. Maybe I’ll finally pick up “The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway”.

Leave a Reply

