Live from Rick’s, Aug. 08

18 Aug

Editor’s note: Rick Welch is the owner of Rick’s Cafe in Starkville. This is the first of his monthly blogs for Scene Now.

BY RICK WELCH

So Sheena asked me to blog. I’d like to think I am tech-savvy, always trying to stay current with the latest cool stuff, but should I be ashamed to admit that I’ve never blogged before? Well here goes, my very first attempt at blogging…
I’d like to call this blog “I’ve never heard of them, they must not be any good.”

I’ve been booking bands for a long time, I guess over 15 years now, which officially makes me old. I guess you could say one of the most frustrating things about my job is when I discover a great new act, do lots of research, listen to their songs, and finally take the plunge and offer them money to travel to Starkville, a town that they probably haven’t heard of until they see it on their contract or type it into their GPS. Then I place lots of ads, put out lots of fliers and only a handful of people show up to see them. Was I wrong? Was this band not as good as I thought?

Wait…a few weeks later I see their new video on CMT or MTV, their new single just broke the charts, maybe I was right, but why didn’t people show up to see them? To get to the point, I think the health of a community’s nightlife can be measured by how well they support live music.

I encourage you guys to become proactive in searching out new artists, Google them, go to their website, go to their MySpace page and listen to their songs. You like what you hear? Go see them! Maybe their music isn’t exactly your style, go see them anyway! It might be an opportunity to see a band in an intimate setting that won’t be playing in an intimate setting for much longer.

Did you know that Maroon 5 played at Rick’s twice? How about 311? Did you know that John Mayer played at Hal & Mal’s? Whether you live in Starkville, Columbus, Tupelo, Oxford, Jackson, wherever…there are quality live music venues everywhere, and they are doing their best to bring you the best live music that they can afford. The more you support their efforts, the more music they can bring you. Pollstar.com is a great website to visit to see who is playing where: you can search by band, venue, or city.

Speaking of live music venues, I had the pleasure of meeting with Kyle, Tim, and Bradley from The Lyric Oxford and got a tour of their new facility. I must say, it’s quite impressive. Welcome to the live music business fellas, I wish you guys the best!

I’d like to thank Sheena for giving me the opportunity to blog for the very first time. How’d I do? (be gentle).

And, of course, the shameless plug part of my blog:

August 27 – Ingram Hill
August 28 – Paul Thorn
September 9 – Eric Church
September 10 – P. Groove
September 15 – Seether
September 25 – Sister Hazel

Go support live music!
Rick Welch
Rick’s Cafe – Starkville, MS
Jupiter Bar & Grill – Tuscaloosa, AL

5 Responses to “Live from Rick’s, Aug. 08”

  1. sheenabarnett August 18, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    Aw, Rick, you know I’m a fan! Looking forward to more blogs from Starkville.

    By the way, I noticed you have the Avett Brothers coming to Jupiter. Think you can convince them to shuffle right on over to Starkville? 🙂

  2. Todd August 18, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    Welcome to Blogville. Oh, and you forgot to mention that The Persians also played Rick’s once (or was it twice?). I’m sure that was just an oversight on your part…

    And yes, support of live music is crucial. The more support bands get at the club level, the sooner they can make the jump to the arena level.

  3. farley662 August 18, 2008 at 2:19 pm #

    You guys need to use all of your connections to get Floggin Molly, Dropkick Murphys, or the Pogues somewhere around here. It’s been put into the right hands, now get to brainstorming and make it happen folks!

  4. ToddV August 19, 2008 at 10:25 am #

    Thanks for posting here Rick. Enjoy it!

  5. popculturefairy August 20, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    Need to get Dr. Daniel & The Rockabilly Vampires!!!

Leave a Reply

