Scene Picks

14 Aug

Need something to do this weekend? Here ya go…

  • Staind, Hinder and Theory of a Deadman are performing at the Arena this weekend, and Scene has the story. If you don’t have a ticket and still want to rock, go see Joan Red and Killjay in the Arena parking lot before the show. It’s free.
  • Justin Posey, Red Hot Romance, The Embrace, Lorien and Fox Chase Drive will all perform at Musician’s Playground Sunday. Get more info in Scene.
  • M. Scott Morris and Wizard’s Kelli Karlson weren’t wowed by “Pineapple Express.” See if you like it – it’s playing across NeMiss now.
  • Dan Westmoreland is playing the Stables Saturday.
  • Good Time Charlie’s has an Elvis Tribute Artist Saturday.

And finally:

5 Responses to “Scene Picks”

  1. farley662 August 14, 2008 at 11:51 am #

    Got a question since you are the music guru. What music do you listen to when you are trying to sleep? I have a playlist of 65 songs made up of Josh Groban, Michael Buble, Norah Jones, and Clay Aiken. Yes, I do like Clay Aiken dang it!

  2. sheenabarnett August 14, 2008 at 12:07 pm #

    hmm. I have to admit, I actually don’t listen to music when I’m going to sleep…I usually fall asleep to my “Golden Girls” dvds…so much so that I almost can’t go to sleep without them. 🙂

    But if it were going to be music, it actually can’t be anything I’m THAT into — otherwise I’ll start thinking too much, quietly singing along, etc. Once a friend gave me a CD of instrumental Beatles tunes, and I couldn’t go to sleep to that because I was too busy singing along.

    Maybe try a mix of the comforting and the ethereal — like Enya, Sarah Brightman, Enigma, ya know, new age-type stuff. It’s all very comforting. Search for “New Age” in iTunes and they’ve got some good suggestions.
    Hope that helps!

  3. Brad August 14, 2008 at 1:03 pm #

    Elvis tribute @ Goodtime Charlie’s eh?

    Wonder where one could see a Beatles tribute? : )

  4. sheenabarnett August 14, 2008 at 1:08 pm #

    omg, Brad, I knew I was forgetting something!! Ack! Sorry and thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  5. Brad August 15, 2008 at 5:25 am #

    No problem Sheena…just giving you a hard time.

Leave a Reply

