What’s Going On – ‘Breaking Dawn’ concert, Taylor Swift

7 Aug

Wow, y’all.

Last night my friend Crissy and I went to the Hi-Tone in Memphis to see the Boxmasters. Or, as all the hundreds of drunk people called them, “BIIILLLYYYY BOOOOOB!!!” Because, yes, actor Billy Bob Thornton is the lead singer. They all seemed to forget about the super-talented guys backing him up. While the band raged on, Billy Bob pretty well sang, smoked, did insane dance moves and kissed women in the audience for two hours. Not to diss him. But the other members of the band were way talented and deserve much respect.

And this was, hands down, the strangest – and by far the rudest – crowd I’ve ever seen at a show. Usually when I see a band, it’s like everyone in the audience realizes we’re all there to see the same band, so we’re kind of like kindred spirits. We take care of each other and scare off the rude folks. Not so with this crowd – the women were shoving us over to get a kiss from Thornton while the men were just knocking us in the head with their elbows. It was like everyone thought that a concert gave them a free pass to be as rude and childish as possible.

OK. Enough rambling and complaining. But like I said, I’ve been to all kinds of shows at all kinds of venues, and this trumped them all. *sigh*

OK. Seriously, I’m shutting up now. 🙂

  • Okkervil River has posted a bunch of tour dates.
  • Despite some members leaving, Wolfmother will continue with new bandmates.
  • Here’s some more info on Tim Burton’s upcoming “Alice in Wonderland.”

4 Responses to “What’s Going On – ‘Breaking Dawn’ concert, Taylor Swift”

  1. tupelobizbuzz August 7, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    The first time I read this I thought the crowd was screaming “Billy Boob” and I was like “how did they get billy boob out of Boxmasters?” Hmm. Shows where I am with the music scene.

    But I hear you about the crowd – one mindset and kicking the rude folks and weirdos out. I had the same experience at a Switchfoot show two or three years ago. I had seen them live a few times, but it was mainly at Christian music fests or at shows were they weren’t headlining. But then, they got big and all the teeny boppers came out along with the regular folks who thought it was headbanging and moshing music. Yeah, I spent the better part of the show pushing a 15-year-old out of my personal space. For some reason, he thought I looked like a good starting place for a mosh pit. Gah gah gah.

    But I’ve seen them live since then and it’s been much better.

  2. sheenabarnett August 7, 2008 at 10:39 am #

    Funny you mention moshing. I can understand it at really hardcore shows where *everyone* wants to get involved, but usually that’s not the case.

    Last February I saw AFI in Memphis, and crowd got — in my opinion — way too mosh-y. There were some young girls there and I was actually afraid for their safety. It was the first time I ever fought back at a show…and then some 14-year-old boy, after falling on my head, said, “Sorry, ma’am.” I nearly decked him again, lol.

  3. tupelobizbuzz August 8, 2008 at 7:20 am #

    Ohhhh – I got the ma’am response at the same Switchfoot show!! I couldn’t figure out whether to whop someone upside the head or crawl under a rock.

    Athlete was opening and I had never heard of them. The info said Athlete was a British band taking the U.S. college scene by storm. They sounded a lot like the Shins – good but not what I’m expecting at a quasi-rock show. It was at USM and there were some emo-looking students behind me so I asked them if they had ever heard of the band. “No, ma’am.” Yeah, as much as I love live music, it’s moments like that when I rethink my attendance.

  4. skaufman244 August 8, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    Billy Bob does that at everyone of his shows – – kisses all the ladies I mean.. And not just a peck… full on tounge..

    It’s a wonder the man doesn’t constantly have a cold!

Leave a Reply

