What’s Going On – Freeman update, Rowling, ‘Nashville Star’

5 Aug

Got a question for you, sweet Scene cats.

So last night my editor, Leslie Criss, and I went shopping.

We were particularly interested in finding some good DVDs. I found the first season of “Supernatural” for a steal at $20, so I got that. (yum – who doesn’t love Dean/Jensen Ackles?)

Later, I found a movie I love, “Waitress,” on sale for $13. Thing was, I could only find it in full screen – and I’m a wide-screen kinda gal.

So this morning I looked up the Web site for the store that sold the $13 full-screen “Waitress,” thinking I’d just order the wide-screen version if it was still $13.
Get this. The full screen version is $13. The wide screen version is $21.86.
What the frak? What’s up with that? If anyone can explain, please do.

While I fume, enjoy newsy bits…

  • You can pre-order J.K. Rowling’s “The Tales of Beedle the Bard” on Amazon. Proceeds go to charity.
  • You wants a free Keane song yeah? You can download a new Keane song by clicking here.
  • “Idol” champ David Cook is working with producer Rob Cavallo, who’s produced megaworks like Green Day’s “American Idiot” and My Chemical Romance’s “The Black Parade.” OK, now I’m excited about his debut…
  • MTV has a good interview with “Twilight” saga author Stephenie Meyer.

2 Responses to “What’s Going On – Freeman update, Rowling, ‘Nashville Star’”

  1. bigwoolymammoth August 5, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    this is pretty cool….though it takes a lil while to load. the new radiohead video, done strictly thru data…..’house of cards’

    http://code.google.com/creative/radiohead/viewer.html

  2. sheenabarnett August 5, 2008 at 3:20 pm #

    Wow, that is pretty awesome. Worth the wait.

    I have to admit that I’m not the biggest Radiohead fan (I know, it’s like I have no ears), but I love how innovative they are. They’re always doing something amazing.

Leave a Reply

