CoryTaylorCox, Empires, The Embrace, Farewell Flight – 7/28

29 Jul

Last night was CoryTaylor Cox, The Embrace, Empires and Farewell Flight at Musician’s Playground in Tupelo.

I’ve said it a hundred times before, but I really want to cover more local shows. Last night I brought one of my closest friends, Crissy, with me to the show.

Lucky for me, she loves taking photos – something I’m not that great at doing. So she took the photos for me. You can see her vision changed often during the show. For some shots, she went for the artsy, messy kind; for others, she wanted to give you a look at what it was like to be there, and they’re very clear and from the back.

Get the story and see the photos by clicking “Keep Reading.”

The first act was CoryTaylorCox.

I was happy to finally see Cory. I’ve interviewed him plenty of times and watched some of his videos, but never seen him live.

He delighted the audience with original tunes like “If Snakes Were On Your Plane…” and by telling jokes. When the band ended with “Anywhere Else But You” (made famous by “Juno”), the whole place felt like one big campfire sing-along.

(CLICK THE PHOTOS TO ENLARGE)

Tupelo indie rock band The Embrace was next. I was excited to hear this band, especially since I’d just met them. They certainly didn’t disappoint, playing tunes like “Sleep” and “The Adversary.”

Indie rockers Empires followed. Colour Revolt is a big influence on this band, and that was evident by Empires’ live show. Still, Empires has its own sound and they were super-energetic live.

Pennsylvania’s Farewell Flight closed the show. This was my introduction to the band, and I was impressed. The live show was tight and sounded terrific, and the band’s latest CD, “Sound. Color. Motion.” is even better. Crissy started getting super artsy, so enjoy these..

4 Responses to “CoryTaylorCox, Empires, The Embrace, Farewell Flight – 7/28”

  1. Sarah Burpo July 29, 2008 at 10:33 pm #

    This show was amazing!
    Tupelo really needs more indie shows in the area especially when we have so many talented people, such as the ones that played at this show. all of these guys are super fantastic to listen to and hang out with. Farewell Flight has been here several times and will hopefully be back this fall. if anyone is interested in checking out some more indie shows at musicians playground, come to this on august 17th.

    http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=viewImage&friendID=200170134&albumID=0&imageID=21284146

  2. sheenabarnett July 30, 2008 at 8:16 am #

    Amen, Sarah!

  3. Charity S. August 6, 2008 at 12:30 am #

    I think the next time Farewell Flight comes they should be front cover of Scene! I’ll gladly design it!! : D

  4. sheenabarnett August 6, 2008 at 8:49 am #

    Hey Charity!

    lol I enjoyed them so much – and the album, which I got at the show – that I might just put them on the cover. They’ve got enough fans around here to warrant it. We’d love to have you back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

