Tunes at work

23 Jul

Our fellow Journal scribes over at Tupelo Biz Buzz had a good topic for today – music at work. Are you allowed to listen to music at work?

That’s the question they’re posing.

The one I’m asking is this – if you are allowed to listen to music at work, what do you listen to? How does it fit in with your job?

I think it’s cool how, sometimes, what we listen to at work is different than what we listen to any other time. I love all of the following bands, but they definitely get extra repeat at work.

If it’s, oh, a day that ends in y, I can almost guarantee I have on The Decemberists or Band of Horses. Both bands create a very laid-back, relaxed music (for the most part), and they make it that much easier to get though the day. I can listen to both bands endlessly.

If I’m feeling a little more upbeat, I go for Coconut Records. I love literally every song on the band’s debut, so I can put it on and let it go. (Go to the band’s MySpace and hear “West Coast”…it’ll change your life)

Other favorites include Jay-Z, Panic at the Disco‘s new album, “Pretty. Odd.,” and Tegan & Sara.

When it comes to rock, I usually have to be angry/bad moody to listen to My Chemical Romance, System of a Down or Smashing Pumpkins at work. But, like The Decemberists, for some reason I can listen to the Sex Pistols at any time. Weird.

If I’m writing about a band, I absolutely have to listen to that band in order to get the best story possible. For example – for the recent story on Eddie Moore, the Tremont principal who released his debut CD, I listened to his CD while I wrote the story. If a band doesn’t have a CD, I listen to their MySpace music. Example – when writing about The Embrace for tomorrow’s Scene, I listened to the great music on their MySpace page. You’ve got to hear their song, “The Adversary.” Seriously. It’s the best song I’ve heard in a long time.

For writing in general – M.I.A., always. Love her stuff.

Talk back – what do you listen to at work?

21 Responses to “Tunes at work”

  1. bigdraws July 23, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    I listen to sports radio. Does that count? And any kind of ballgame I can find.

  2. sheenabarnett July 23, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    heck yes, I say it counts. Whatever gets you through the day. 🙂

  3. JRAY July 23, 2008 at 2:17 pm #

    I listen to http://www.christianrock.net it is a great website that shows the lyrics of the song playing and shows what song is coming up next.. it also has hard rock, hip hop and powerphrase stations. It keeps me motivated through the day… and helps it go by quicker.. gotta make it to the weekend…

  4. sheenabarnett July 23, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    thanks for the link Jray!

  5. tupelobizbuzz July 23, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    I listen to Jack Johnson if I need to feel like I’m on a vacay and not stuck in the office. Same for reggae and calypso.

    On a regular day I listen to one of the many Internet radio stations through iTunes. I’m a fan of the Xmusiconline.com stream, the spirit radio, Raw FM out of Australia and then a variety of African, blues, acoustic and college radio streams. And, since I need to concentrate, if the stream leans more toward talk radio, it gets crossed off my list.

  6. Brad July 24, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    Oh, yes I definately have to have the tunes on to get me through the day. I try to listen to the same stuff at work that I do any other time: Beatles, Hollies, Gerry & Pacemakers, Cilla, Dusty, Sandie, Stones, Searchers, you know the good stuff!

  7. sheenabarnett July 24, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    Yep, that’s the good stuff, Brad! 🙂

  8. CPMYD July 24, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    I listen to whatever’s on my ipod…mostly Praise and Worship with a heavy dose of Contemporary Christian and a little bit of David Cook and of course Gloria Gaynor “I Will Survive”.

  9. Cyberbrain1268 July 24, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    I listen to my personal selections on http://www.Pandora.com . I get new suggested songs based on some seed songs and artists. I then approve or disapprove as I am listening. It doesn’t take long to get “it” trained to the kinds of music you like.

  10. Brad July 24, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    Thanks, Sheena. I always knew you were a woman of discriminating tastes. By the way, Rubber Soul is playing at Neil’s in Memphis August 16th!

  11. sheenabarnett July 24, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    Awesome! Thanks for the tip! 🙂

    It seems like a lot of y’all like Pandora. I tried it a WHILE back…looks like I need to give it another try.

  12. sheenabarnett July 24, 2008 at 3:31 pm #

    Ya know, Brad, I started to get all super music geeky and talk about how I listen to my Beatles vinyl I’ve ripped at work. But I feel like a super-braggy and music geeky when I talk about that…so I try not to talk about that much..Oh wait. Just did. lol. Nothing can defeat The Beatles!! 🙂

  13. Todd Hunt July 24, 2008 at 6:51 pm #

    Pandora is the only way to go…

  14. Brad July 25, 2008 at 5:57 am #

    Nothing is Beatle-proof! Yep, I know what you mean Sheena. The vinyl sounds so much better than the CDs…especially the UK Monos.

  15. sheenabarnett July 25, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    I haven’t been lucky enough to get my hands on those yet — right now I just want all the albums on vinyl, and then I’ll go back and hunt for the more rare ones. mm..Vinyl!

  16. beagle August 6, 2008 at 2:38 pm #

    I think I listen to a lot of bands/singers most people around here haven’t heard of…though someone might prove me wrong…

    Matt Werts
    Dave Barnes (a MS native)
    Pat McGee Band
    Stephen Kellog and The Sixers
    Matt Nathanson
    Cowboy Mouth
    Patrick McAloon Band
    Cary Pierce
    Jackopierce
    Splender
    Gabe Dixon Band
    Kings of Convenience

    I do have main stream favorites… Train, Jason Mraz, Maroon 5, Smashing Pumpkins, Jimmy Buffett, Ben Folds, Cake .. but I tend to stray into lesser known artists more often than not. I could go on and on with that list but I won’t, I am very eclectic in music taste – I like all sorts of things. At work though, I try to pick low key “clean” music – I don’t want to subject co-workers or customers with kids to music they may not want to or need to hear. (I have to play my music at a low volume on my pc – ears have to be free to answer the phone.

    I am also a big fan of sites like pandora and musicovery – fun online sites to find new music!

  17. beagle August 6, 2008 at 2:40 pm #

    Pardon that first one in the list is matt wertz with a Z. I had a total brain fart there. If you haven’t heard him, check him out! Good stuff!

  18. sheenabarnett August 7, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    Hey Beagle,

    Ya know, I’ve heard Matt Wertz’ name a lot…perhaps I should check him out.

    That is a really good mix of music. I can’t just listen to one style — I need different things for different moods, and then different jobs at work.

  19. beagle August 11, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    Sheena –

    He can be upbeat and low, rocker and acoustic….nearly everyone I have recommended him too has enjoyed some of his songs if not all.

    He will be in Memphis the end of this month and also at Bulldog Bash in Starkville in Sept. – if you want to see him live.

    http://www.myspace.com/mattwertz

    Ps – Thanks for the compliment on the list. 🙂 You have some great stuff on yours too.

  20. sheenabarnett August 11, 2008 at 10:02 am #

    Yay, thanks for the link, beagle! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Listen to music at work? « Biz Buzz - July 23, 2008

    […] cubeworld, are you allowed to listen to music while you work? Do you use headphones? Tell Sheena at Scene Now what music you actually listen […]

Leave a Reply

