What’s Going On – New music, Pumpkins, cover songs

22 Jul

Happy Tuesday, dears.

Yesterday I complained about not hearing any exciting new music…but then I did.

After the newsy bits, click on “Keep Reading” to see some new tunes I’m excited about.

  • Speaking of new music, click here to stream new CDs like Miley Cyrus’ “Breakout.”
  • Pretty rad: After a long-forgotten Pumpkins tune was featured in the new “Watchmen” trailer, it’s now the band’s most-downloaded song. I forgot how much I liked that song.
  • Here’s extra info on Jessica Simpson’s country album.
  • TV on the Radio talks about its new CD.
  • Kellie Pickler’s new album drops in September.

So, my choice tunage I’ve recently discovered…

Yesterday I finally listened to my two latest Paste Magazine CDs.

Hands down, the best track I found is Izza Kizza’s “Red Wine” on CD 44.

You can hear the song at his MySpace, and even better, download “Kizzaland Mixtape” for free there next week. Yay!

Other songs on the Paste CDs (44 and 45):
“Always a Friend,” Alejandro Escovedo (he’s playing at Proud Larry’s in Oxford!)
“Hologram,” Katie Herzig
“Two Ways Out,” Darker My Love
“Around the World,” The Death Set
“You, Me & The Bourgeousie,” The Submarines
“The Poor House,” The Boxmasters (Billy Bob Thornton’s band, and yes, they’re touring nearby in Memphis, Jackson, Huntsville, etc.)
“Mugiboogie,” Mugison
“The Good Old Days,” The Lodger
“He Seng (Rock and Roll Hero)” Carsick Cars
“The End,” The Windupdeads (Mostly because that’s a rad band name)

What songs did you like off these last two Paste CDs?

This morning a few music videos caught my eye.

The first was “Psychosocial” by Slipknot. That surprised me because I’ve never really been a Slipknot fan (I have an irrational fear of people wearing masks…shut up). But I’ve been craving a new relatively-metal-ish sound lately, so, hey, woo-hoo Slipknot.
It didn’t help that MTV yanked the video half-way through to show girls screaming at the Jonas Brothers. One of my biggest pet peeves is when only half a music video is shown. Grr, arg.
Here’s the “Psychosocial” video:

The other video I loved this a.m. is Ne-Yo’s “Closer.” The video looks wonderful – and the song’s even better. Sometimes I forget how talented that guy is. It doesn’t hurt that I’m a sucker for a well-dressed man. 🙂 I can’t wait to go home and get this song on my iPod.

Here’s the video for “Closer” by Ne-Yo:

Leave a Reply

