Scene Picks & more

17 Jul

Yep, taking the day off.

But of course we can’t ignore the big news of the day – The Emmy nods. I’m super-excited that one of my favorite shows, “Dexter,” and actor, Michael C. Hall, were nominated. Yay!

The weekend’s aaaalmost here – what are you doing this weekend?

  • Scene told you about two local artists with CDs out – rapper Capital T. and soul singer Eddie Moore. Read Scene to find out more about them
  • Kelli with Wizard and I thought “Journey to the Center of the Earth” was pretty fun. Check it out – it’s playing across NeMiss now.
  • Weston Smith is performing at Boondock’s Grill in Tupelo on Saturday.
  • Ingram Hill is playing at Rick’s in Starkville Friday. Drew Chapman is opening.
    The very next night, Ingram Hill is heading to Oxford for a gig at The Lyric Oxford.
  • Proud Larry’s in Oxford has some quality local music going on. The Aaron Hall Band will perform Thursday, while Rocket 88 plays Friday.

By the way, fellow Joss Whedon fans – don’t forget that Act II of “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog” is up today. I stayed up late to see it when it went live, and if possible, it’s even better than Act I. I actually laughed so hard I cried – and I can’t remember the last time I did that. 🙂 Remember, the final Act goes up Saturday.

Leave a Reply

