What’s Going On – Beatles, Cash, GnR

14 Jul

Merry Monday, Scene cats.

What did you do this weekend?

I have to admit, my weekend was a little dull – but I think I needed it to be. I had all intentions of taking my mom to see “We are Wizards” in Oxford (she’s fascinated by the whole wizard rock world), but both of us started feeling pretty crummy Friday afternoon.

We had plans then to go shopping Saturday, but again, the crummy moods hit us again. I don’t think either of us have been sleeping much, so we needed a day to rest. I spent Saturday ripping all kinds of vinyl to my iPod. I bought My Chemical Romance’s “The Black Parade” on vinyl some months back and finally ripped it this weekend. It was really hard to rip, for some reason. And I’ve had “Sgt. Pepper’s” on vinyl for years now and I finally ripped that this weekend, too. It sounds amazing.

I also had to rip a record for my dad – “The Best of Billy Vera & the Beaters.” I had no idea who Billy Vera was and now I kind of wish I didn’t. Just not for me. Anyone besides my dad a fan?

Another fun piece to brighten up your morning: If you’ve got the Pieces of Flair application on Facebook, add the Scene button! 🙂

And another piece of happiness: Books-A-Million in Tupelo will have a midnight party for “Breaking Dawn.” The partying starts at 10 p.m. Aug. 1, and then at midnight the books will finally be released. Woo-hoo! I already have my voucher (oh yeah, I’m a nerd), but I won’t be there for the party. Oh well – if you go, let us all know how it goes!

OK, I’ll shut up now. 🙂

  • What? There’s possibility of a limited edition Beatles iPod being in existence somewhere on this earth? That’s almost too much for my feeble brain to handle.
  • For some reason they’re going to make a Johnny Cash remix CD. And Snoop Dogg’s on it. I don’t know about this.
  • OK, allow me one more nerd-out: Remember Megan Gogerty, who wrote “I Miss Buffy the Vampire Slayer”? Now she’s made an entire “Buffy” tribute album. Click here to learn more and hear “Kinda Wish D’Hoffryn Was My Boyfriend.” Other tracks include “Joss is the Boss (Give Him Your Money),” “Daddy Issues (Giles Giles Giles)” and “I Didn’t Write a Song About Angel.”

Leave a Reply

