Local Band of the Week: Justin Posey

14 Jul

Scene Now’s Local Band of the Week knows the Tupelo scene well, but he’s stepping into the spotlight solo this go around. Pull up a chair and learn about Justin Posey.

BAND MEMBER: Justin Posey, 22. Guitar.

HOMETOWN: Saltillo, MS

WHEN DID YOU START PLAYING MUSIC: Well, I am the former lead singer for a band called fourtoomany, when I left it in 2003/2004ish (I’m really not sure anymore) I started writing my own music, but It hasn’t been until recently that I started sharing it with everybody. My first official show by myself was February of this year.

STYLE OF MUSIC: My music is pure. Most of the time it’s just me and my guitar. I have friends like Trent Armstrong and Casey Montgomery come sit in and play with me sometimes, but it’s mostly just me. In my opinion it’s a nice blend of pop and folk.

BAND WEB SITE: Justin Posey’s MySpace

What inspires your original music?
A lot of my music is based on past relationships, but some of my new stuff is based on questions that race around my mind concerning life, and life after death. “Okay” is one of my favorite songs, and the core of the song is the question: will I be okay? Referring to my life and all the things that impact it, because sometimes I just don’t feel like I can go on.

What’s your live show like? My live show is pretty simple. Like I said, most of the time it’s just me with my guitar, so I can’t really move around alot, because I have to sing as well. So it’s pretty laid back.

What are you currently working on?
I am currently recording “The Seasonal EP.” The name relates to my songs in that nothing in this world is constant, everything changes like the seasons. We are all searching for the constant.

It’s going to consist of 5 of my best songs and have guests like Cody Hickman (The Embrace), Trent Armstrong (Loose Gravel), and Casey Montgomery (Long-time friend). Bobby Hudspeth is recording it.

I am constantly looking for ways to strengthen my live show. I would love to go full band, but I just have no luck finding good musicians who aren’t already in a band.

What about the Northeast Mississippi area inspires you, if at all?
Well, one thing about Mississippi is that there is a church on ever corner. Growing up I was always in church, and a lot of my songs refer to my faith.

Where would you like to take your music in the next five years?
I just want people to hear my music… to hear what I have to say. My songs aren’t fiction, they are real. Traveling the nation as a touring act is a dream of mine.

Who are your biggest influences?
Nate Reuss
Ben Gibbard
Damien Rice
Jeff Schneeweis

PARTING SHOT –
Next live show – Aug. 16 at Musician’s Playground.
The Embrace and I are working on a little one week mini-tour across the southeast for mid September.
So if you want to book me, send me a message via myspace at www.myspace.com/posieslullaby.

3 Responses to “Local Band of the Week: Justin Posey”

  1. kynda July 15, 2008 at 8:03 pm #

    woot… im the first to comment… hehe keep it up justin ur voice is amazing

  2. sarah July 19, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    how can one person be considered “band of the week?”

  3. sheenabarnett July 20, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    I never liked the idea of calling it “Local Artist of the Week” or “Local Musician of the Week” — those just sounded too formal. Band works for just about everybody – even if it is just one guy. I’m not that worried about the bad wording, though, just the music. 🙂

Leave a Reply

