In My Queue: ‘Lars and the Real Girl’

1 Jul

There are very few people who can accurately recommend a movie for me.

I’ll admit, I’ve got weird taste in movies. I prefer classics over almost anything; most of today’s comedies just baffle me (after all these years we’re still laughing at fart jokes?); I hate movies that rely on special effects, yet I loved “Cloverfield”; and I’m tired of quirky for quirky’s sake.

But Oxford Film Freak Melanie and copy desk cat Heath both suggested I see “Lars and the Real Girl,” and I trust their taste in films. Melanie wrote great reviews of “Lars” both here and on her blog. Heath, knowing my preferences in films/TV/comics very well, said I’d love it.

So I took a break from watching “Six Feet Under” to rent “Lars and the Real Girl” – written, coincidentally, by Nancy Oliver, who has written for “Six Feet Under.” Go figure.

Here’s a synopsis from Yahoo!: “Lars Lindstrom is a loveable introvert whose emotional baggage has kept him from fully embracing life. After years of what is almost solitude, he invites Bianca, a friend he met on the internet to visit him. He introduces Bianca to his brother Gus and his wife Karen and they are stunned. They don’t know what to say to Lars or Bianca–because she is a life-size doll, not a real person and he is treating her as though she is alive. They consult the family doctor Dagmar who explains this is a delusion he’s created–for what reason she doesn’t yet know but they should all go along with it. What follows is an emotional journey for Lars and the people around him.”

This movie so could’ve easily been some crude joke-fest, but it’s actually very sweet.

Ryan Gosling stars as Lars. He has always been kind of “meh” for me, but I thought he was phenomenal in this role. Why he wasn’t at least nominated for an Academy Award is beyond me.

Emily Mortimer, Paul Schneider and Patricia Clarkson also star.

I adored this movie. I laughed, I cried. There really isn’t any other movie like it.

Check out the official “Lars and the Real Girl” Web site and see the trailer below:

One Response to “In My Queue: ‘Lars and the Real Girl’”

  1. mychemicalfreak July 1, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    OH seriously this movie owned me!

    I completely agree that Ryan should have been nominated! It was amazingly odd, and soooo good!

Leave a Reply

